Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Crackling with Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium

  1. #11
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I get the same problem as mentioned here and several other posts. Static or crackling sound right from when it says SEGA and into the game. I'll play the campaign for about 10 mins and then the sound will degrade until nothing can be heard. I have tried the following with no success:

    -Updated video and audio drivers
    -Verified local cache
    -Removed/reset my entire appdata folder
    -Reinstalled game
    -Disabled SPDIF device
    -Lowered channels to 128

    I have a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer. This thing is driving me up the wall. I've attached my DXDiag. Do I need to escalate this somehow? Thanks for your time.
    Attached Files

  2. #12
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Question Futile?

    So is there any use in posting technical problems in the forum here? I'm not trying to be facetious, but I'm just wondering if I'm wasting my time.

    If this isn't the place for these types of issues, I'd be glad to know where I should direct my queries.

  3. #13
    Tech-Hero. Master and Commander Iscaran's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bavaria, Germany
    Posts
    4,227

    Default

    Hi there,

    Hmm - you could try contacting the SEGA support or use the contact from the link in my signature.

    What is strange is there seems to be no sound driver whatsoever registered in the dxdiag.

    ound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: PCI\VEN_1102&DEV_0005&SUBSYS_00291102&REV_00
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 100
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: {0.0.0.00000000}.{b8245126-5485-4e67-9fad-60357ed78a7e}
    Driver Version: ()
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: No
    Date and Size: , 0 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider:
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No

    Are you sure the XFi drivers are installed correctly ?

    A non working driver would be the most straightforward explanation for crackling and noisy sounds.
    Iscaran

    Hero.

    If you need help with a support request on these boards please read this and follow the instructions.

  4. #14
    Senior Member Major eye-opener's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    675

    Default

    1. try to use beta drivers from creative...
    2. you dont need alchemy for shogun 2 http://connect.creativelabs.com/alch.../AllItems.aspx

  5. #15
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Check out my solution here http://forums.totalwar.com/showthrea...o-Sound-Issues

    Let me know if either of them work.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts