Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Best Starting Faction?

Default Best Starting Faction?

My M2TW that i ordered a few days ago has arrived in the mail today ! Right now it is installing. Once it is finished installing I'm going to have to make a choice that i have been pondering on for awhile now. What in your opinion is the best faction out of the five that you begin with? I was originally going to do a Holy Roman Empire campaign but it seems that you are surrounded by enemies. (I'm new to the series so i don't want to get pummeled for the first time ). England seems easier, since you are on an island. France also looks good. What faction did everybody else use for their first campaign?

Junior Member Private Tarquinius's Avatar

England. England. England.

Its not just the best faction in game, its the best faction IRL too.

(note: for the purposes of this boast I consider the US and Commonwealth to be extensions of Anglo-Saxon culture)

As you say HRE is difficult because you'll be attacked right from the start. Venetians are fun but they have the same issue as HRE. France is a powerful faction, but.....well they're French. Spain has ****py units, but that can make the game fun too. They're pretty isolated as well, so you do get some of the same benefits as England, but not the same extent.
    Last edited by Tarquinius; 07-26-2011 at 07:56 PM.
    Coulda' swore I joined this forum like 5 years ago.

England is a good starting faction. In real life it was an absolutely awful place. Just read or watch Pillars of the Earth. Also, the Movies about Henry VIII werent bad either. Pretty much up until the time of Newton it was fairly backward. The game cant take all of these power struggles into account either and neither the rampant civil wars that were quite common in England.
    For the appeasers back in the old country, Casa del Carthage was dangerously out of control!