Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: How to unlock all factions?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2

    Default How to unlock all factions?

    Hey im having trouble unlocking all the factions on Rome Total War.Any help would be appreciated. thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Master and Commander Ace Blazer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    5,319

    Default

    Make sure you back up your files.

    Go to your main RTW folder and then go to the following folder:
    Rome - Total War/data/world/maps/campaign/imperial_campaign

    In this folder is the descr_strat.txt file
    Change the top of the code to look like this;

    campaign imperial_campaign
    playable
    romans_julii
    romans_brutii
    romans_scipii
    egypt
    seleucid
    carthage
    parthia
    gauls
    germans
    britons
    greek_cities
    macedon
    pontus
    armenia
    dacia
    numidia
    scythia
    spain
    thrace
    end
    unlockable
    end
    nonplayable
    romans_senate
    slave
    end
    Now you can play with any faction except SPQR and Slave. You could play as the Roman Senate but pressing certain buttons will crash the game, so it's better if you don't. And you can't play as the Slaves/Rebels cause it'll crash.
    My Rome 2 PC: Intel i5-4670, nVidia 760GTX, 8GB RAM, 120GB SSD, NZXT Vulcan mATX case
    Please view the Total War Forum: Terms and Conditions.
    Buttons the Kitten needs your help. Click here to save a kitten today.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Sergeant-Major LouThunders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ace Blazer View Post
    And you can't play as the Slaves/Rebels cause it'll crash.
    You can. My game is version 1.5, and I tried to play as the Rebels. We can, and it's the most diverse culture you may find. I tried turning the entire ancient world to rebels, gives that old evil villain feel MUAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!
    Dealer in THUNDER and death! (Sorry Nappy!)

  4. #4
    Moderator Major Corpius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    648

    Default

    I can confirm the rebel part, just don't be surprised íf weird stuff does happen to you during the game or having the game not launching at all.

    With that disclaimer in place, my personal rebel campaign was as stable as the next (non-rebel) campaign.
    Total War Forums' Rules

    "One loves one's fellow-man so much more when one is bent on killing him."
    - Captain Julian Henry Francis Grenfell, November 1914

    Anything I say can and will be used against me.

  5. #5
    Junior Member Private Jacl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    somewhere..
    Posts
    3

    Default

    so, how do you unlock all factions without editing the game files ?

  6. #6
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jacl View Post
    so, how do you unlock all factions without editing the game files ?
    Win the game once with any Roman faction, and then you can play any faction (except Senate and Slaves/Rebels).

  7. #7
    Senior Member Sergeant-Major LouThunders's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Indonesia
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mindblank View Post
    Win the game once with any Roman faction, and then you can play any faction (except Senate and Slaves/Rebels).
    No, some factions would still be unplayable, such as Spain, Armenia, or Macedonia.
    Dealer in THUNDER and death! (Sorry Nappy!)

  8. #8
    Senior Member Colonel flamingryu30's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Boone, NC.
    Posts
    884

    Default

    i really wish you didnt have to edit the files to get macedon because my new computer is not letting me save the edits to the dest.strat file making it annoying for me to try and play my favorite faction

  9. #9
    Moderator Major Corpius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    648

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by flamingryu30 View Post
    i really wish you didnt have to edit the files to get macedon because my new computer is not letting me save the edits to the dest.strat file making it annoying for me to try and play my favorite faction
    That's not your new computer, rather the new Windows version that doesn't let you do that. You have to give yourself permission to edit this file. To do this, go to the document (descr_strat), right click and go to properties.

    This brings up several tabs, go to the tab security there you will find a user/group list. Select your username and click on the large edit button under this list. Now check the option (first one in the list) that grants full access to the document and you should be able to save the changes you make to descr_strat.

    *note: some tabs/steps might slightly differ in their actual name, this was a translation of the steps I took with my dutch windows version.
    Total War Forums' Rules

    "One loves one's fellow-man so much more when one is bent on killing him."
    - Captain Julian Henry Francis Grenfell, November 1914

    Anything I say can and will be used against me.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Corporal Gordon003's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Nsw,Australia
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Save the new folder as descr_strat1 then delete the original descr_strat. Then rename the new one as the old one is. So simple.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts