Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: FINAL Solution for OPTIMUS nvidia cards

  1. #1
    Senior Member Corporal cvch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    España
    Posts
    137

    Default FINAL Solution for OPTIMUS nvidia cards

    Well, after almost one year I have managed to figure out how to solve the 2 main problems that we (Nvidia users with optimus technology) are having with the game, I hope it helps you because it has taken me many hours to figure this out as CA has not provided us with any help.

    First of all lets say there are 2 possible problems:

    1- Your game DOES NOT detect that you have an NVIDIA card and it plays under the Intel HD card
    If this is your problem, you MUST BE SUFFERING FROM VERY LOW FPS ingame, if your FPS are OK, even if the game shows you are playing under Intel HD, your problem is the second one (Explained below). Well, this first problem is easy to solve, just follow this steps:

    1- Update your drivers and change the Shogun 2 Nvidia profile in order to make it use your Nvidia Card and not the integrated one. New drivers should solve this first problem ande lead you to the second one.

    2- The game runs smoothly (because it is running on your NVIDIA card) but it LOWERS THE GRAPHICS SETTINGS as it detects you are playing under the Intel HD card with just 535mb of Ram and not your NVIDIA card
    This is the most troublesome issue, we were all getting low graphics due to that "automatic downgrade", i FINALLY solve this problem, follow the steps because for some people the first step solves the issue and for others, such as me, it doesen´t.

    Solution nº1:
    Investigating on the script file, and playing with it, I've found a way to play with the nVidia card!

    First of all you must modify the first line:

    Code:
    write_preferences_at_exit false; # write_preferences_at_exit <bool>, Write preferences at exit #
    So the app doesn't update the file every time.
    If you look throught the file you see:

    Code:
    gfx_gpu "Intel(R) HD Graphics"; # gfx_gpu <path>, The GPU description #
    WTF?!?
    I've tried to modify with:

    Code:
    gfx_gpu "NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M     "; # gfx_gpu <path>, The GPU description #
    Why the spaces? 'Couse if you go on the Device Manager -> Video Card -> Right click on the nVidia -> Properties -> Details -> Device Description -> Right click on the list below -> Copy I get the name with the spaces. I keep them just to be sure.
    Now if you lunch the game you see the the initial nag screen a little bit smoother the before, good sign.
    Now you need to tweak the settings.
    Following I copy all my settings. Feel free to experiment with them.
    Just an advise. Don't modify the setting throught the game, otherwise you lost the "nVidia setting".

    Code:
    write_preferences_at_exit false; # write_preferences_at_exit <bool>, Write preferences at exit #
    app_multirun false; # app_multirun <bool>, Allow multiple instances of the application #
    x_res 1366; # x_res <int32>, Fixed window width #
    y_res 768; # y_res <int32>, Fixed window height #
    x_pos 0; # x_pos <int32>, Window position #
    y_pos 0; # y_pos <int32>, Window position #
    vfs_log_level 0; # vfs_log_level <int32>, 0 - off, 1 - mod-user, 2 - dev #
    unit_test false; # unit_test <bool>, unit test (for daily build) #
    campaign_unit_multiplier 0.75; # campaign_unit_multiplier <float>, Set default unit multiplier for campaign #
    naval_fleet_multiplier 0.75; # naval_fleet_multiplier <float>, Set default fleet size for battles #
    gfx_first_run false; # gfx_first_run <bool>, First time application run #
    gfx_dx11_checked true; # gfx_dx11_checked <bool>, Have we checked that user wants dx11? #
    gfx_video_memory 2147483648; # gfx_video_memory <int>, Override available video memory (bytes) #
    gfx_fullscreen true; # gfx_fullscreen <bool>, Run the application in fullscreen or not #
    gfx_vsync true; # gfx_vsync <bool>, vertical synchronization #
    gfx_hdr true; #  gfx_hdr <bool>, Use high dynamic range rendering pipeline #
    gfx_shadermodel 4; # gfx_shadermodel <int>, Set shader model, 0-SM3LQ, 1-SM3, 2-SM4, 3=SM4.1, 4=SM5 #
    gfx_aa 4; # gfx_aa <int>, Set antialiasing, 0-no, 1 = MLAA, 2 = MSAA_2X, 3 = MSAA_4X, 4 = MSAA_8X #
    gfx_texture_filtering 0; # gfx_texture_filtering <int>, Set texture filtering, 0-trilinear, 4- anisotropic 16x #
    gfx_texture_quality 2; # gfx_texture_quality <int>, Set the quality of textures. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_ssao true; # gfx_ssao <bool>, Enable Screen Space Ambient Occlusion buffer #
    gfx_enable_directx11 true; # gfx_enable_directx11 <bool>, Enable DirectX 11 rendering #
    gfx_distortion true; # gfx_distortion <bool>, Enable Distortion Effect buffer #
    gfx_depth_of_field 1; # gfx_depth_of_field <int>, Set depth of field quality 0 - off, 2 - high #
    gfx_hardware_shadows true; # gfx_hardware_shadows <bool>, Enable hardware shadows #
    gfx_tesselation true; # gfx_tesselation <bool>, Enable tesselation #
    gfx_sky_quality 2; # gfx_sky_quality <int>, Set the quality of sky. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_unit_quality 2; # gfx_unit_quality <int>, Set the quality of units. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_ship_quality 2; # gfx_ship_quality <int>, Set the quality of ships. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_building_quality 2; # gfx_building_quality <int>, Set the quality of buildings. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_water_quality 2; # gfx_water_quality <int>, Set the quality of water. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_unit_scale 2; # gfx_unit_scale <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_shadow_quality 3; # gfx_shadow_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_tree_quality 3; # gfx_tree_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_grass_quality 3; # gfx_grass_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - off, 4 - ultra #
    gfx_terrain_quality 1; # gfx_terrain_quality <int>, Set unit scale. 0 - low, 1 - high #
    gfx_gamma_setting 2; # gfx_gamma_setting <float>, Set gamma correction #
    gfx_brightness_setting 1.2; # gfx_brightness_setting <float>, Set brightness #
    gfx_screenshot_folder ./screenshots; # gfx_screenshot_folder <folder>, Folder to where save screenshots relative to Empire directory #
    gfx_gpu "NVIDIA GeForce GT 540M     "; # gfx_gpu <path>, The GPU description #
    gfx_effects_quality 2; # gfx_effects_quality <int>, Set effects quality. 0 - lowest, 3 - ultra #
    gfx_vignette true; # gfx_vignette <true|false>, Enable vignette #
    gfx_picture_in_picture false; # gfx_picture_in_picture <true|false>, Enable picture_in_picture #
    camera_move_speed 100; # camera_move_speed <float>, Set camera movement speed #
    camera_turn_speed 5; # camera_turn_speed <float>, Set camera turn speed #
    default_camera_type 0; # default_battle_camera <card32>, default battle camera: 0-totalwar 1-rts 2-debug #
    enable_sound true; # enable_sound <bool>, enables all audio content (default = true). If disabled none of the database or sound pack files are loaded. #
    fix_res true; # fix_res <bool>, Forbid window resizing #
    fix_window_pos true; # fix_window_pos <bool>, Forbid window repositioning #
    mouse_wheel_sensitivity 50; # mouse_wheel_sensitivity <card32>, mouse wheel sensitivity: <0-100> default value = 50  #
    invert_cam_x_axis false; # invert_camera_x_axis <bool>, invert camera tilting up/down #
    invert_cam_y_axis false; # invert_camera_y_axis <bool>, invert camera panning left/right #
    minimised_ui false; # minimised_ui <true|false>, show minimised ui #
    ui_order_button_mode 0; # ui_order_button_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    show_selection_markers true; # show_selection_markers <true|false>, Show the selection markers under the units #
    show_path_markers true; # show_path_markers <true|false>, Show paths in naval battles #
    show_target_zones true; # show_target_zones <true|false>, Show firing arcs etc #
    ui_order_button_mode 0; # ui_order_button_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_card_mode 0; # ui_card_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_radar_mode 0; # ui_radar_mode <0|1|2>, Only applicable with minimised ui. 0 = always, 1 = slide on, 2 = never #
    ui_land_unit_ids 0; # ui_land_unit_ids <0|1|2>, 0 = always, 1 = on mouse over, 2 = never #
    ui_naval_unit_ids 0; # ui_naval_unit_ids <0|1|2>, 0 = always, 1 = on mouse over, 2 = never #
    ui_mouse_scroll true; # ui_mouse_scroll <true|false>, Allow/disallow scrolling of the map by putting the cursor at the edge of the screen #
    battle_time_limit 60; # battle_time_limit <int>, Sets the time (in minutes) for each battle. -1 for unlimited #
    battle_difficulty 0; # battle_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for battles. Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    autoresolve_difficulty 0; # autoresolve_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for battles that are autoresolved. Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    campaign_difficulty 0; # campaign_difficulty <int>, Sets the handicap for campaigns.  Positive gives advantage.  -2 is vhard, -1 is hard, 0 normal, 1 easy #
    battle_advice_level 2; # battle_advice_level <int>, Sets advice level in the battle game #
    campaign_advice_level 2; # campaign_advice_level <int>, Sets advice level in the campaign game #
    info_panel_mode 1; # info_panel_mode <int>, Sets info panel options. 0 - only in campaign, 1 - campaign and battle cards, 2 - campaign and battle cards and battle units #
    advisor_mode 2; # advisor_mode <int>, Sets Advisor options. 0 - text only, 1 - audio only, 2 - text and audio both #
    campaign_time_limit -1; # campaign_time_limit <int>, Sets the time (in minutes) for each round of the campaign. -1 for unlimited #
    show_cpu_moves true; # show_cpu_moves <true|false>, Show/hide the movement of the ai pieces on the campaign map #
    automanage_regions false; # automanage_regions <true|false>, Let the AI manage taxes etc in players regions #
    limitless_ammo true; # show_cpu_moves <true|false>, Enable/disable Infinite ammo on battlefields #
    occupiable_building_markers true; # show_occupiable_building_markers <true|false>, Enable/disable occupiable building markers on battlefields #
    allow_drop_in_battles true; # allow_drop_in_battles <bool>, Allow invititations to other peoples campaign battles when playing a single player campaign #
    friend_only_drop_in_battles true; # friend_only_drop_in_battles <bool>, invite only friends to your campaign drop in battles when playing a single player campaign #
    multithreaded_model_enabled true; # multithreaded_model_enabled <true|false>, Run the battle model on a separate thread #
    battle_camera_shake_enabled true; # battle_camera_shake_enabled <true|false>, Enable battle camera shake effects #
    subtitles true; # subtitles <true|false>, Display subtitles during movies #
    sound_master_volume 100; # sound_master_volume <int>, master sound volume 0-100 #
    sound_music_volume 75; # sound_music_volume <int>, music sound volume 0-100 #
    sound_speech_volume 100; # sound_speech_volume <int>, speech sound volume 0-100 #
    sound_sfx_volume 100; # sound_sfx_volume <int>, sfx sound volume 0-100 #
    sound_master_enabled true; # sound_master_enabled <true|false>, master sound enabled #
    sound_music_enabled true; # sound_music_enabled <true|false>, music sound enabled #
    sound_speech_enabled true; # sound_speech_enabled <true|false>, speech sound enabled #
    sound_sfx_enabled true; # sound_sfx_enabled <true|false>, sfx sound volume enabled #
    sound_provider 0; # sound_provider <int>, sound provider index (0-?) #
    sound_channels 256; # sound_channels <int>, Number of sound channels. Fewer channels means fewer sounds but faster performance. #
    voice_chat_enable true; # voice_chat_enable <bool>, Enables VOIP functionality in Steam. (default = true) #
    voice_chat_microphone_gain 100; # voice_chat_microphone_gain <int>, voice_chat_microphone_gain (0-100). #
    voice_chat_microphone_gain_boost true; # voice_chat_microphone_gain_boost <bool>, Boost microphone gain. #
    voice_chat_volume 100; # voice_chat_volume <int>, Voice chat volume (0-100). #
    voice_chat_quality 2; # voice_chat_quality <int>, Voice chat quality (0-2, 0 = low, 1 = medium, 2 = high). #
    voice_chat_transmit_only_when_key_pressed true; # voice_chat_transmit_only_when_key_pressed <bool>, voice_chat_transmit_only_when_key_pressed (otherwise always trasnmitting). #
    bink_use_thread true; # bink_use_thread <bool>, tells bink to use asynchronous update, increased performance on some systems, decreased on others. (default = true) #
    number_of_threads 0; # number_of_threads <int>, Set the number of threads <= 0 - automatic, >0 = explicit number  #
    campaign_camera_edge_scroll_delay 0.5; # campaign_camera_edge_scroll_delay <float>, Set the number of seconds of delay between the mouse cursor entering the edge-scroll zone on the campaign map the camera starting movement. #
    As you can see I use the DX11 for playing the game.
    There is only a small price to pay... Every time you lunch the game it ask to select if use DX9 or DX10 (the Intel card).
    I think that solution could give an idea where the problem is. In fact the nVidia Optimus use the nVidia card, as you can see from the Windows taskbar (like someone said here), but the game doesn't see the card. In fact if you go on the preference menu you see Intel, not nVidia.

    If that didn´t work, let´s go to solution nº2, but FIRST, delete your preferences.script profil and restart the game so it creates a new one and write manually 0 on the gfx_video_memory part. [ex: gfx_video_memory 0; # gfx_video_memory <int> ]

    SOLUTION Nº2:
    first u have to download this program
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/NVIDIA-I...load-2612.html

    there several line u need to change to make shogun recognize ur video card, USE DIRECTX 9 ONCE YOU OPEN THE GAME.

    first click there to start it will as for admin right
    inspector.jpg

    then change the line I high line to the same in the pic
    insoector2.jpg

    apply change and u good to go.

    This will make the game to recognize your video card while you play under DIRECTX 9, not Directx 11.

    SOLUTION Nº3 (MOST IMPORTANTE ONE):
    OK, at this point you should be able to run the Game on Directx 9 using your NVIDIA card without any problem, if you are okay with Directx 9 and it runs smooth for you, stay here. BUT if you want to use Directx 11 (which was my case as under Directx 9 it runs horribly bad) you will have one problem:

    Once you use Directx 11, your graphics get downgraded with everything on low as it just detects your Intel HD card, even if it´s running under the NVIDIA card, SO, what you have to do is:

    1- Be sure that under the preferences.script file you have a 0 value: gfx_video_memory 0;
    2- Open the game under Directx 9 (which is now detecting your Nvidia card) and put the graphic settings you want to have (I had to go into a siege and land battle to change everything from inside the battles as the main menu didn´t work for me).
    3- Choose in the main menu Directx 11 when you are done
    4- Open the game with Directx 11 and play!

    The game should not downgrade your graphics now, it should keep the graphic settings you selected when you opened the game under Directx 9.

    PD: DON´T touch any graphic settings under the Dx11 mode or your graphics will be downgraded and you will have to repeat the whole process.


    WELL, I hope I´ve helped you, thanks to all the users of the forum from posting possible solutions and special thanks to Anandir and Gananian who found the most importante ways to solve the problem. We have not recived any help from CA nor the moderators, which is sad, but let´s hope this contribution helps all the users that have been waiting for a patch that never came in order to play the game ^^

    I´d appreciate if moderatos marked this thread as important so everyone can solve their problems.
    Last edited by cvch; 02-01-2012 at 10:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Tech-Hero. Master and Commander Iscaran's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Bavaria, Germany
    Posts
    4,227

    Default

    Glad you finally found the time to read the nvidia inspector solution from here (amongst the other workarounds)
    http://forums.totalwar.com/showthrea...unds-solutions

    Though I will stick this topic anyway - maybe two stickies will help finding the workarounds.
    Iscaran

    Hero.

    If you need help with a support request on these boards please read this and follow the instructions.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Corporal cvch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    España
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Iscaran, the Nvidia Inspector solution is only part of the way to solve the problem, if you don´t do the 3rd step (as I explain above), you won´t notice the difference between using the inspector solution or not if you want to play under Directx11

  4. #4
    Member Private Asakura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    41

    Default

    Not being into programming, I'm not sure how to fset an inbetween setting outside of the game. I need to turn off all the soft shadows, vertical synchronization and such, and set all the graphics settings to high, and lower the MSAA to 2x. How do I do that in the script file? I can switch the entire page, but I don't know how to make individual changes past the graphics card choice.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Corporal cvch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    España
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Asakura, read again the "Step 3" of the "Second solution", you have to open the game under Directx 9, change the graphic options, select Dx11, close the game and re open it, and you will have the graphic settings you choose on Dx9 ^^

  6. #6
    Senior Member Brigadier Colonel Mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tied to the tracks
    Posts
    1,019

    Default

    but doesn't that make us unable to use shader model 5, tesselation and more than the lowest antialiasing?
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it...

    "If at first you don't succeed, you fail."

    this disaster... will have been preventable. I intend to tender my resignation... once it occurs.


    Total War:Rome 2 - Rome Softer

  7. #7
    Senior Member Corporal cvch's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    España
    Posts
    137

    Default

    Just shadder moddel 5, you will have to keeph SM3, but for some reason you can apply tesselation and antialising without loosing your graphics configuration, but don´t toucha any other settings or you will have to repeat the process.
    But the main advantage of Dx11 is the performance, it works (At least for me) at 50fps under Dx11 and at 20-25 under Dx9.

    I know SM5 is important, and that this is not a complete solution, I have just made what can be done with the tools we have, it should be CA who made a patch in order to fix this and not make the users work as beta testers >.<
    Hope it helps =)
    Last edited by cvch; 02-02-2012 at 11:44 PM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Brigadier Colonel Mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tied to the tracks
    Posts
    1,019

    Default

    Alright. Seems like that's as far as we'll get on our own here. I hope an official fix is inbound, but at least I can finally play my game to some acceptable standard now. Thanks for the solution.
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it...

    "If at first you don't succeed, you fail."

    this disaster... will have been preventable. I intend to tender my resignation... once it occurs.


    Total War:Rome 2 - Rome Softer

  9. #9
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default re:FINAL Solution for OPTIMUS nvidia cards

    I've done this and it worked. However now my Nvidia card is being displayed not all of it's memory is only half of the full 1024mb. what do I do? and Thank you

  10. #10
    Senior Member Brigadier Colonel Mallard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Tied to the tracks
    Posts
    1,019

    Default

    That doesn't affect your performance though does it...
    I don't suffer from insanity, I enjoy it...

    "If at first you don't succeed, you fail."

    this disaster... will have been preventable. I intend to tender my resignation... once it occurs.


    Total War:Rome 2 - Rome Softer

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts