Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: My napoleon total won't start up?

  1. #1
    Junior Member Private George harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default My napoleon total won't start up?

    I have been playing napoleon total war for a year. but just a few days ago, I tried opening it but nothing happens. (it comes up with 'preparing to launch napoleon: total war' and when that close, nothing happens)

    Other steam games are fine.

    Can you determine the problem?
    Paul died in 1966

  2. #2
    Senior Member Major LSD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    722

    Default

    Have you tried verifying the integrity of the game cache? Sounds like it's a Steam issue, rather than a game issue.

    Right click on the game in your library, select properties and, under the local files tab, select "verify integrity of game cache". Let that run its course - it's searching through your files to make sure they match the proper files the game should have.

    It's also a good idea to post your dxdiag report. On Vista/7, type "dxdiag" into the search menu box, and then, once that application has finished its report, save it to a text file and copy and paste the contents here.

    Feel free to check out my Steam guide on naval combat in E:TW

  3. #3
    Junior Member Private George harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    ystem Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 4/8/2012, 21:08:39
    Machine name: TOM-PC
    Operating System: Windows 7 AG 32-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1 (7601.win7sp1_gdr.111118-2330)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
    System Model: hp workstation xw6200
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 3.60GHz (2 CPUs), ~3.6GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3328MB RAM
    Page File: 1417MB used, 5234MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7601.17514 32bit Unicode

    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Input Tab: No problems found

    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 4850
    Manufacturer: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
    Chip type: ATI display adapter (0x9442)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9442&SUBSYS_24701682&REV_00
    Display Memory: 1913 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 505 MB
    Shared Memory: 1407 MB
    Current Mode: 1024 x 768 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
    Monitor Model: PHILIPS 150P
    Monitor Id: PHL151A
    Native Mode: 1024 x 768(p) (60.004Hz)
    Output Type: HD15
    Driver Name: aticfx32.dll,aticfx32.dll,aticfx32.dll,atiumdag.dl l,atidxx32.dll,atiumdva.cap
    Driver File Version: 8.17.0010.1114 (English)
    Driver Version: 8.930.0.0
    DDI Version: 10.1
    Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 12/6/2011 04:17:36, 778752 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-D702-11CF-6871-7A04BEC2C535}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x9442
    SubSys ID: 0x24701682
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Driver Strong Name: oem12.inf:ATI.Mfg.NTx86.6.1:ati2mtag_RV7X:8.930.0. 0ci\ven_1002&dev_9442&subsys_24701682
    Rank Of Driver: 00E60001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YV12,0x32315659) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC1,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC2,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC3,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(IMC4,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S340,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(S342,UNKNOWN) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=
    D3D9 Overlay: Not Supported
    DXVA-HD: Not Supported
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    Paul died in 1966

  4. #4
    Junior Member Private George harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Im validating it now
    Paul died in 1966

  5. #5
    Junior Member Private George harrison's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    5

    Default

    It said it found one missing, and it downloaded it but there is still a problem.

    I also deleted and re downloaded the game a few hours ago and it still does not work
    Paul died in 1966

  6. #6
    Administrator and Co-Lead Moderator Master and Commander Dionysius the Mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3,159

    Default

    Moved to Tech Support.

    "Every position must be held to the last man: there must be no retirement. With our backs to the wall and believing in the justice of our cause each one of us must fight on to the end." ~ Field Marshal Haig, order to British troops, 1918

    Please view the Total War Forum: Terms and Conditions

  7. #7
    Member Private Romojo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Waitakere, NZ
    Posts
    33

    Default

    I had this problem (or something like it) a few days ago. The startup would 'freeze' just before the SEGA logo. I'd had a crash in the game just before so suspected it was something nasty left over. I rebooted, and noticed that there was a newer graphics driver out there as well (NVidia thing prompted me). I upgraded that ... and when I got back, I could get in again.

    So - reboot (if you haven't already) and check your graphics driver. (Just checked that version you have myself ... looks like it is quite an old one. Unless I've misread the screen - quite possible! - ATI Radeon 'Catalyst' is up to version 12.3, and your version is 8.17...)

  8. #8
    Senior Member Brigadier
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    i think i have exactly same issue... I have played this game for few month and didn't play for 2 month and I wanted it to try again today. However, the game seems to launch for a few second but after that nothing happens. I really don't get what would be the issue. It also says one file need to be validated (same number as George harrison does) I tried validate napoleon total war 4 times but it still shows the same issue.

  9. #9
    Member Lance Corporal Little Green Alien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    England
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I have this problem now, I need help please.

  10. #10
    Junior Member Private
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Same problem, did anyone above solved it?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts