Total War Forums

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Scripts?

  1. #1
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default Scripts?

    I deleted everything in the scripts folder to try and fix the legal/splash screen. I reinstalled the game and the scripts are still gone. Does anyone know how to get them back? The game still doesn't work either....

  2. #2
    Moderator Master and Commander Billy Ruffian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    22,011

    Default

    The scripts should re-create themselves once you actually launch the game successfully.
    "He uses statistics as a drunken man uses lamp-posts - for support rather than illumination." (Andrew Lang)

    |Takeda| Yokota Takatoshi

    Forum Terms and Conditions

  3. #3
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Billy Ruffian View Post
    The scripts should re-create themselves once you actually launch the game successfully.
    Gotcha, do you know if CA has been working on the legal/splash screen error? I would actually like to be able to play my game.

  4. #4
    The Creative Assembly Field-Marshall Nicklaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2,138

    Default

    Have you gone into regedit and searched for Incredibar? In addition, try disabling all extensions in your web browser(s).
    Formal disclaimer: any views or opinions expressed here are those of the poster and do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of The Creative Assembly or SEGA.

    Quick solutions to common FotS problems :
    http://forums.totalwar.com/showthrea...ed-26-03-2012)

  5. #5
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicklaus View Post
    Have you gone into regedit and searched for Incredibar? In addition, try disabling all extensions in your web browser(s).
    I disabled the extensions and I have no idea with what you mean as far as the "Incredibar".

  6. #6
    The Creative Assembly Field-Marshall Nicklaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2,138

    Default

    Incredibar is malware that is difficult to detect via antivirus/anti-malware software. It is one of the main causes of the splash screen crash. The best way to see if it is the cause is to access regedit, and search for Incredibar.
    Formal disclaimer: any views or opinions expressed here are those of the poster and do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of The Creative Assembly or SEGA.

    Quick solutions to common FotS problems :
    http://forums.totalwar.com/showthrea...ed-26-03-2012)

  7. #7
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nicklaus View Post
    Incredibar is malware that is difficult to detect via antivirus/anti-malware software. It is one of the main causes of the splash screen crash. The best way to see if it is the cause is to access regedit, and search for Incredibar.
    Where would it normally be under? There is no search tab in regedit.

  8. #8
    The Creative Assembly Lieutenant Griffinator's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    491

    Default

    press the edit button then look in the list (it could also be f3) find next and it should let you type in the box that will appear

  9. #9
    Member Lance Corporal
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Thanks! I never found it. Still have the issue

  10. #10
    The Creative Assembly Field-Marshall Nicklaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2,138

    Default

    Try going to C:\Users\YOURUSERNAME\AppData\Roaming\The Creative Assembly\Shogun2 and delete the following folders:

    army_setups
    battle_preferences
    fx_cache
    ui_cache
    Scripts



    If that does not work, exit Steam, then try going to C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam and deleting the following:
    AppUpdateStats.blob
    ClientRegistry.blob

    Then restart Steam (it will update) and try to validate Shogun 2. See if that helps.
    Formal disclaimer: any views or opinions expressed here are those of the poster and do not necessarily represent the views or opinions of The Creative Assembly or SEGA.

    Quick solutions to common FotS problems :
    http://forums.totalwar.com/showthrea...ed-26-03-2012)

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts