Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

Shogun 2: Total War not starting via Steam

Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior MemberPosts: 12Registered Users
Hiya,

I've bought S2TW earlier today, and have been waiting around 10 hours at the moment for it to launch... It's stuck at 97% because of some update in Steam.

Steam was downloading updates for some of my other games too, and those downloaded at speeds close to 1mb/s. Once every few minutes, S2TW tells me it's downloading at 2kb/s... Hence it is still stuck at 97% after all this time.

Is there any way around this? Can I download this bloody update somewhere else? Can I start S2TW via another way (yes, I did try launching it from the Steam directory, to no avail)?

Thanks in advance.


P.S.: This is one of the reasons to hate Steam, when I have bought a game I should be able to play it as soon as possible.

EDIT: Note that I did try changing the download region. And it looks like it works the first few moments after starting Steam (downloading at around 30 kb/s), only for it to go back to it's old state not even a minute later. So still stuck at 97%.
Post edited by Mr. Gerbz on

Comments

  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    ...So I guess this means these forums aren't active, or doesn't anyone know how to solve this problem?

    EDIT: I'd almost call this a bloody scam. Why did I waste €90,- on a Collector's Edition that won't even start, and doesn't even include a soundtrack?
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    So, instead of the mod trying his best to help me out, he only closes my other thread.

    I am starting to get really angry right now. I know it's unrealistic and futile (so don't expect me to make stupid threats like "see you in court"), but I'm studying International Law and thus I am slightly more aware of my rights than the average person might be.

    I think researching everything you did wrong according to International Law will make a fun project.

    EDIT: This is not aimed at the mod who closed my thread, which was according to forum regulation (but still, not even trying to help?), but at Creative Assembly for their appalling lack of service.
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    I just woke up, and it hasn't moved an inch. And great to see no one bothered to help yet.
  • the_ecdthe_ecd Senior Member Posts: 153Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    Have you tried:
    1. Exit Steam then go to your Steam folder and rename the following files AppUpdateStats.blob and ClientRegistry.blob, it will make new ones, resetting some settings You will need to re-enter your username and password !
    2. Right click on the game in Library -> Properties -> Local Files -> Verify the intergity of the game cache
    [3. Right click on the game in Library -> Properties -> Untick "Enable Steam Community In-Game" and on the Updates tab untick "Enable Steam Cloud"]
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    Thank you for your time the_ecd. I have tried deleting clientregistry.blob yesterday, but did not work. Didn't try appupdatestats.blob, will try now.
    Also verified the game cache 8 times yesterday, all times it was 100%.
    Why would disabling the in-game features of Steam help btw?

    EDIT: It is now at 0%. Sigh.
    EDIT2: After revalidating, it's at 97% once again. This is ****ing me off.
  • the_ecdthe_ecd Senior Member Posts: 153Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    The step about in-game features was optional, sometimes they cause problems.
    But from what you describe, it may be that something (maybe an antivirus) might deny acces to steam's update.
    Other than that, you could always backup your game(s) and uninstall and remove all traces of Steam, then reinstall it and restore the game(s).
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    So, it 'kind of' started after reinstalling again. It showed me some kind of loading screen, with only the title. And then it decided to crash. Now it's stuck in updating again, but at 12% this time.
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    Seriously, how come no one else is having this problem? Why are the Steam servers stopping specifically me, downloading specifically Shogun 2 Total War?
  • the_ecdthe_ecd Senior Member Posts: 153Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    Might be a connection problem, temporarily disable any firewall you have. Also, if you connect through a router check out this site http://portforward.com , select your model, skip the ad and select Steam Client. It'll show you how to open the ports that Steam might need.
  • Mr. GerbzMr. Gerbz Junior Member Posts: 12Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    The problem is that it downloaded other game updates at blazing speeds, so it's not a problem from my side.
  • GzealGzeal Senior Member Posts: 178Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    the_ecd wrote: »
    Have you tried:
    1. Exit Steam then go to your Steam folder and rename the following files AppUpdateStats.blob and ClientRegistry.blob, it will make new ones, resetting some settings You will need to re-enter your username and password !
    2. Right click on the game in Library -> Properties -> Local Files -> Verify the intergity of the game cache
    [3. Right click on the game in Library -> Properties -> Untick "Enable Steam Community In-Game" and on the Updates tab untick "Enable Steam Cloud"]

    I don't have problem with playing the game; it works fine for me. But I just really dislike steam as an attached program while running the game. Whenever I try to turn it off, it would ask me to turn off Shogun first. Can I use this method start game without starting steam?
  • IscaranIscaran Tech-Hero. Posts: 4,229Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    "Offline mode" ?

    Steam -> go offline.

    Or what is your problem exactly with steam ? That the client uses a little of your RAM, you also do not need to start it with your system start, just when you start a game....steam is part of the game.

    Consider the steam client as the copy protection attached to the game, which is still far better than starforce or many other ways companies have choosen (Ubisoft) for example.

    The major drawback I see is I have to run a software which uses an additional ~14MB of RAM when I want to run a (Steam) game - but if the copy protection was included in the games engine it would use those 14MB on top of what its using anyway then I guess.
    Iscaran

    Hero.

    If you need help with a support request on these boards please read this and follow the instructions.
  • GzealGzeal Senior Member Posts: 178Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    well, I guess it would be alright if it only uses 14mb(really doubt it). But I really don't like my game running along with steam. You can think of it as a personal grudge against it. Thanks for advises, but I'm just a hardcore steam hater. The only reason I didn't do what the_ecd said is because that I was worried about the multilayer part.
  • IscaranIscaran Tech-Hero. Posts: 4,229Registered Users
    edited March 2011
    It is using 14MB on my rig. Win7 64 and I have 12 STEAM games installed.
    Iscaran

    Hero.

    If you need help with a support request on these boards please read this and follow the instructions.
  • RuaRua Junior Member Posts: 3Registered Users
    edited April 2011
    I am having the exact same problem as the OP and any help would be greatly appreciated
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator Posts: 7,293Moderators, Tech Moderators
    edited April 2011
    The Windows installer is a 1 dimensional creature. If it thinks something else has prior dibbs on it, it will steadfastly refuse to install anything else until the 'priority' item has been downoaded.

    Typical cases where this happens and the system fails to notify you are:
    Windows Update... hegemonic windows will feel it needs an update and this takes precedent if it was noticed prior or during the download leading UP TO the installation of anything else. Yes, other progrmas may have gotten in under the wire, but S2, could be left hanging.

    AntiVirus Definition updates, or any other updates to AV, AM programs because these are nearly as hegemonic as WIndows itself, and will claim precendence on the installer as well if it was noticed prior to install of your S2 or other updates, even during the downoad process.

    Adobe, and other third party program updates where you may have auto updating features enabled (or chosen for you by aggressive programs).

    Clearing and or installing these things frees up the installer and gets you on your way.

    A few common issues with stalled installations in Steam hanging at a fixed percentage point can be found here:

    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=6966-IADH-1503

    Failing that there may be an administrative (Windows may require a permission) or security issue to do with the specific program that is not downloading, and there are other programs that can interfere with the behavior of Steam files. I recommend turning off all security programs if you are having any trouble downloading large files (such as S2), and check the Steam file link in the above help file for problematic applications to see if you might be running one of them .
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://help.sega.com/home

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. Feel free to PM me or Matthias CA if you haven't received a response within 24 hours, 48 hours on the weekend. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
Sign In or Register to comment.