Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Tips on beating VH/legen

gsdavidgsdavid Junior MemberPosts: 3Registered Users
edited June 2011 in Total War: SHOGUN 2
Ok guys, I gotta admit this TW was harder than any before. Right after getting the game i started playing on VH/VH and got crushed and could not survive like 20 turns. So I've read a lot of posts on this forum that helped me a lot so i want to make a short guide/tip list from all of them + some that i've found on my own.

Btw I've only played Tokugawa but im pretty sure this works with any clan.

Diplomacy: As much as i can figure out, i almost never had been declared war on for no apparent reason like some claim. Whenever someone declared a war on me it was usually because our diplomatic relations were "hostile" or at least unfriendly. However, AI likes to declare war vs you early on in game when your power rating is weak or meager. Rarely will they declare war on you if you are strong or terrifying. Basically, watch out for relations every few turns and send tribute in order to postpone war with neighbors.

However, dont get overconfident on relations status, on VH I had a +250 relation ally backstab me so still be careful about that. Never ever give prolonged military passage to anyone because they will always use it to get deep in your territory where you are undefended and backstab you. However, using a 5 -10 turns military passage as offer to get peace/trade relations is a very good thing and cheap to do.