Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

NTW AI: Single Player Historical Battles at Highest Levels

VieillardVieillard Junior MemberPosts: 1Registered Users
edited January 2015 in Napoleon: Total War
Bonjour Mes Amis,

I've never played computer war games but recently installed NTW (Limited Edition) as a way to learn about 19th Century cavalry tactics.

I wasn't interested in playing the various NTW Campaigns, just wanted to manipulate the cavalry squadrons around the game's virtual battlefields to gain understanding of their various functions in warfare in real time (more or less). I started playing the Historical Battles (land battles) as a Single Player and quickly became hooked on that aspect of NTW.

I've been playing about a month now and have achieved Silver Level in six battles (Waterloo-British, Ligny, Dresden, Borodino, Friedland, Pyramids) and Gold Level in three (Lodi, Austerlitz, Arcole). Waterloo (French) is proving difficult and I am currently at normal level (Copper).

I have been watching Youtube videos to acquire insight into the strategies needed for victory. The most useful have been those posted by Shepherd492, who demonstrates the Hardest Level (Gold) for the various battles.

I have also experienced some of the technical problems mentioned online and worked through them. Installation on my PC was not easy or intuitive, the game still often refuses to load on command, etc., but I understand these types of glitches are typical of many online games.