Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Army builds

TheWraith90TheWraith90 MemberPosts: 39Registered Users
edited December 2015 in Total War Eras Multiplayer
Hi, this question has probably been asked hundreds of times so apologies for that.
I am pretty new to playing online battles and would like to to hear what strong army builds and formations you guys use in multiplayer, in the 11.700 budget.
I have done internet searches but everything i come across is outdated.
I have been practicing as rome so would be interested to see what units you pick for them, aswell as other factions.

Thanks
Post edited by TheWraith90 on

Comments

• Thorien_KellThorien_Kell Senior Member Posts: 1,529Registered Users
    edited March 2015
    I was thinking in making multiplayer guide for rome 2 here on forums because quantity of newbies I have to kill every day is staggering. Rome is not faction I would recommend to newbie, yea they are tough but low charge bonus across the board forces you to know about minimizing charge bonuses - using terrain and meat shield to use them effectively. In short they will lose to common barbarian faction on open terrain. In forest however they are pretty much invincible.

This is a typical balanced roman build. Take it against any army except barbarians. It works on any map but good skirmish units make it good on non flat - hilly maps. It has solid cav and skirmish component and still lot of decent swords. You can swap arrows with slings is you expect good skirmishers on other side (just swap principes for common legionares if yu lack some gold, or general for legatus) and take archers if you expect chariots or elephants.

R1.jpg