Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Absolute Noob here, would like some wisdom from veterans.

FoxstrongbowFoxstrongbow Posts: 1Registered Users
Greetings everyone, I'm brand new to this site, and to playing Total War.

I actually only have the demos of Empire and Napoleon, but that is why i have come here. I'm a big gamer, and i've known about this series for a long time, but i've never had a computer than can run it until now. I used to be a console gamer.

Anyway, i'll just cut to the chase here; this game is hard. Like i said, i'm a gamer, but... this is a totally new type of game for me.

I've only messed with the battles, and really that's all i care about in this game.. I play Europa Universalis 4 if i want a map game. I know that stuff is part of the full game itself, but im confident i'd have no trouble with that aspect.

But like i was saying about the difficulty of the battles... I'm sure it's because i'm new, but it's a pretty overwhelming ordeal for me. There are so many units on the screen, and the enemy can of course multitask and focus everywhere at once.

There's no pausing while you execute commands, it's all in real time, so things feel rushed... I also feel like the controls are pretty awkward, and i don't feel like the units respond to my commands very well. Placing your units is also not as simple as id like it to be, They just seem like complete morons, but i'm sure it's my own fault. I want to know the tricks, the tips, the little quirks to simplify things... One question i would like to know about the interface, is fire at will on when the button is black or when its white?