Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

DX 11 vs DX12 performance difference

SuneaterSuneater Registered Users Posts: 241
edited June 2016 in General Discussion
Because so many have been asking "will my computer run this game" and / or "what difference will DX12 patch do" or even "can I run this 100% in xxx computer" here we go.

Just wrote down your CPU + RAM + GPU information and test resolution + game options what you are using / feel that they are OK for you to play the game and run game performance test in DX11 and DX12 mode.
Simple. Then wrote down here your estimated low to high FPS and average fps (test will say it for you).
I will start:

CPU information:
Intel 2600K processor 3.4GHz
overclocked 4.8GHz

16Gb 1600 DDR3 RAM

GPU information:
Asus Fury R9 Nano
Core Voltage: -48mV
Power Limit: +50%
Core Clock: 1020 MHz
Memory Clock: 545 MHz

Game version:
1.1.0
Build: 10514.892912

Game options:

All full (including blood effects)
except:
Shadow details: Ultra
Deph of field: Off
Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
Texture Filtering: Trilinear
V-Sync: Off

Test resolution:
2560x1440p

DX11 performance:
~45-54FPS
average: 50.6FPS

DX12 performance:
~56-62FPS
average: 60.3FPS
* Windows 10 64bit Enteprise
* Motherboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
* Power: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
* CPU: AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
* Cooler: Thermalright Macho Rev. B
* GPU: Asus AMD R9 Nano 4Gb.GPU 1040/545, -36mV (1000/500), (R9NANO-4G) ASIC Quality 60.1%
* Net: 100/10Mb
* HD's: Kingston 480Gb SSDNow kc300, Seagate Barracuda 3Tb 64Mb SerialATA600, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 200Gb, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 300.0GB, Western Digital 200GB
* RAM: 2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)
* Soundcard: Asus XONAR D1 Low Profile PCI 7.1
* VCR+system: Denon AVR-1603 + 5.1 Eltax MovieMaxx & Eltax Cinema subwoofer (front Dali 310)
* Screen: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 2560 x 1440
* Case: Fractal Design Define R2
* Mouse: Logitech G500s
* Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Battlefield 4 Collectors Edition

Comments

  • OhmsquareOhmsquare Registered Users Posts: 2
    CPU information:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1230 V2 @ 3.30GHz

    RAM
    8 GB RAM 1600 DDR3

    GPU information:
    MSI R9 290 GAMING 4G

    Game version:
    1.1.0
    Build: 10514.892912

    Game options:
    Graphic Settings: Ultra

    Test resolution:
    1920x1080

    DX11 performance:
    ~47-60 FPS
    average: 51 FPS

    DX12 performance:
    ~61-79 FPS
    average: 74.1 FPS

    = ~23 FPS increase, that is very nice.
  • NeverBackDownNeverBackDown Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,845
    What's the increase in Campaign map/battles? Better same or worse?
  • ostrogothostrogoth Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 485

    What's the increase in Campaign map/battles? Better same or worse?

    Actually what you said is far more interesting than benchmark results.
  • OhmsquareOhmsquare Registered Users Posts: 2

    What's the increase in Campaign map/battles? Better same or worse?

    I had not noticed any substantial increase in campaign map, maybe 3-5 FPS at max.
  • SuneaterSuneater Registered Users Posts: 241
    22.10.2016 update
    Same settings:

    ALL DLC + FLC installed

    Game version:
    1.4.0
    Build: 11973.949822

    Game options:
    All full (including blood effects)
    except:
    Shadow details: Ultra
    Deph of field: Off
    Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
    Texture Filtering: Trilinear
    V-Sync: Off

    Test resolution:
    2560x1440p

    DX11 performance:
    ~46-56FPS
    average: 51.0FPS
    (+0.4FPS since version 1.1.0)

    DX12 performance:
    ~55-64FPS
    average: 59.8FPS
    ( -0.8FPS since version 1.1.0)

    In DX12 Campaign map/battles around same update (around +10fps). So definetly better considering blood, extra units and so on.
    * Windows 10 64bit Enteprise
    * Motherboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
    * Power: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    * CPU: AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
    * Cooler: Thermalright Macho Rev. B
    * GPU: Asus AMD R9 Nano 4Gb.GPU 1040/545, -36mV (1000/500), (R9NANO-4G) ASIC Quality 60.1%
    * Net: 100/10Mb
    * HD's: Kingston 480Gb SSDNow kc300, Seagate Barracuda 3Tb 64Mb SerialATA600, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 200Gb, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 300.0GB, Western Digital 200GB
    * RAM: 2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)
    * Soundcard: Asus XONAR D1 Low Profile PCI 7.1
    * VCR+system: Denon AVR-1603 + 5.1 Eltax MovieMaxx & Eltax Cinema subwoofer (front Dali 310)
    * Screen: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 2560 x 1440
    * Case: Fractal Design Define R2
    * Mouse: Logitech G500s
    * Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Battlefield 4 Collectors Edition
  • Wolfshart79Wolfshart79 Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 511
    And for nvidia...still sucks.
  • bennymclbennymcl Senior Member Montreal, CanadaRegistered Users Posts: 2,797
  • seienchinseienchin Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 4,571
    Why on earth do you guys use trilinear???
    Is trilinear enough on higher resolutions? Last time I tried not going 16x was with shogun 2 and it looked awful... have times changed or is it the higher res?
  • SuneaterSuneater Registered Users Posts: 241
    edited October 2016
    Seienchin said:

    Why on earth do you guys use trilinear???
    Is trilinear enough on higher resolutions? Last time I tried not going 16x was with shogun 2 and it looked awful... have times changed or is it the higher res?

    Well, for me I have 27" monitor, around 75cm from my head to monitor and 2560x1440p resolution.
    I guess if I would pause game and take screenshots / zoom all in I would start to notise some problems.. ..but I bet first I would notise that Shadow details: Ultra only.

    So nope, I personally do not notise difference while I am playing.

    It is generally 3 things: resolution, distance between your head and monitor (or TV and you if you think of watching movie or so), size of the monitor (or TV).

    If we look from here we can see:

    "
    Display details:

    Screen Diagonal: 27 inches
    Screen Resolution: 2560 x 1440
    Screen Width: 23.5" (59.8 cm)
    Screen Height: 13.2" (33.6 cm)
    Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 (16:9)
    Dot Pitch: 0.009" (0.233 mm)
    PPI: 108.79 PPI

    Minimum distance[1]
    0.43 m (1.4 ft)

    Maximum distance[2]
    1.15 m (3.8 ft)

    Visual Acuity distance[3]
    0.79 m (2.6 ft)
    "
    * Windows 10 64bit Enteprise
    * Motherboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
    * Power: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    * CPU: AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
    * Cooler: Thermalright Macho Rev. B
    * GPU: Asus AMD R9 Nano 4Gb.GPU 1040/545, -36mV (1000/500), (R9NANO-4G) ASIC Quality 60.1%
    * Net: 100/10Mb
    * HD's: Kingston 480Gb SSDNow kc300, Seagate Barracuda 3Tb 64Mb SerialATA600, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 200Gb, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 300.0GB, Western Digital 200GB
    * RAM: 2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)
    * Soundcard: Asus XONAR D1 Low Profile PCI 7.1
    * VCR+system: Denon AVR-1603 + 5.1 Eltax MovieMaxx & Eltax Cinema subwoofer (front Dali 310)
    * Screen: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 2560 x 1440
    * Case: Fractal Design Define R2
    * Mouse: Logitech G500s
    * Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Battlefield 4 Collectors Edition
  • SuneaterSuneater Registered Users Posts: 241
    09.12.2016 update
    Same settings:

    ALL DLC + FLC installed

    Game version:
    1.5.0
    Build: 12678.0

    Game options:
    All full (including blood effects)
    except:
    Shadow details: Ultra
    Deph of field: Off
    Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
    Texture Filtering: Trilinear
    V-Sync: Off

    Test resolution:
    2560x1440p

    DX11 performance:
    ~46-54FPS
    average: 50.8FPS
    (-0.2FPS since version 1.1.0)

    DX12 performance:
    ~54-64FPS
    average: 60.1FPS
    ( +0.3FPS since version 1.1.0)
    * Windows 10 64bit Enteprise
    * Motherboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
    * Power: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    * CPU: AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
    * Cooler: Thermalright Macho Rev. B
    * GPU: Asus AMD R9 Nano 4Gb.GPU 1040/545, -36mV (1000/500), (R9NANO-4G) ASIC Quality 60.1%
    * Net: 100/10Mb
    * HD's: Kingston 480Gb SSDNow kc300, Seagate Barracuda 3Tb 64Mb SerialATA600, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 200Gb, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 300.0GB, Western Digital 200GB
    * RAM: 2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)
    * Soundcard: Asus XONAR D1 Low Profile PCI 7.1
    * VCR+system: Denon AVR-1603 + 5.1 Eltax MovieMaxx & Eltax Cinema subwoofer (front Dali 310)
    * Screen: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 2560 x 1440
    * Case: Fractal Design Define R2
    * Mouse: Logitech G500s
    * Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Battlefield 4 Collectors Edition
  • obippoobippo Member Registered Users Posts: 2,259
    Has dx12 been fixed for nvidia card users yet?
    Always be aware when a Content Refusing Troll Brigade (CRTB) representative is near. Contact your local Witch Hunter for further info.


  • AxikusAxikus Junior Member Registered Users Posts: 775
    I have an RX 480 and my DX12 performance is worse than DX11. I reported it a long time ago, but there was no answer.
  • Nyanko73Nyanko73 Junior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,351
    Tried it out with the latest drivers last night and there is some real improvements I find. It runs much smoother than it used to with a GTX970. I got overall 10 more FPS in most areas of the game since last time I checked.

    Team Yennefer

    "A blinding flash materialised into a transparent sphere, and inside it loomed a shape, assuming contours and shapes at frightening speed. Dandelion recognised it at once. He knew those wild, black curls and the obsidian star on a velvet ribbon. What he didn’t know and had never seen before was the face. It was a face of rage and fury, the face of the goddess of vengeance, destruction and death." - Time of contempt
  • whatever_whatever_ Junior Member Registered Users Posts: 411
    Nyanko73 said:

    Tried it out with the latest drivers last night and there is some real improvements I find. It runs much smoother than it used to with a GTX970. I got overall 10 more FPS in most areas of the game since last time I checked.

    Can someone confirm this?
  • HuntingDogHuntingDog Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,470
    Nyanko73 said:

    Tried it out with the latest drivers last night and there is some real improvements I find. It runs much smoother than it used to with a GTX970. I got overall 10 more FPS in most areas of the game since last time I checked.

    Which CPU do u have?
  • dge1dge1 Moderator Arkansas, USARegistered Users, Moderators, Knights Posts: 19,407
    edited December 2016
    Alienware R4




    DX11 was slightly less on FPS. Not enough to matter either way.
    "The two most common things in the universe are Hydrogen and Stupidity." - Harlan Ellison
    "The right to be heard does not automatically include the right to be taken seriously." - Hubert H. Humphrey
    "Never argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.” - George Carlin
  • HuntingDogHuntingDog Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,470
    I don't see any improvements in DX12 performance compared to earlier patches. DX12 is still about 15% slower in the benchmark for a single GTX980TI @ 1920x1080.
  • Nyanko73Nyanko73 Junior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,351

    Nyanko73 said:

    Tried it out with the latest drivers last night and there is some real improvements I find. It runs much smoother than it used to with a GTX970. I got overall 10 more FPS in most areas of the game since last time I checked.

    Which CPU do u have?
    I have an intel core i5 3570k. And my graphic card is a slightely overclocked MSI. I have installed the game on a SSD drive to speed loadings up. The campaign map is really beautiful on DX12.

    Team Yennefer

    "A blinding flash materialised into a transparent sphere, and inside it loomed a shape, assuming contours and shapes at frightening speed. Dandelion recognised it at once. He knew those wild, black curls and the obsidian star on a velvet ribbon. What he didn’t know and had never seen before was the face. It was a face of rage and fury, the face of the goddess of vengeance, destruction and death." - Time of contempt
  • nosuchnamenosuchname Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,399
    edited December 2016

    This is the type of battle I call a real benchmark, not the tiny preset benchmark battle.
    Always get 60 on the preset one, but on this one my fps can drop below 30 at times .
    Auto resolving has been hugely improvement in warhammer 2, its far better compared to the first one, but it still needs some tweaking, especially the dark elves.
  • ostrogothostrogoth Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 485


    This is the type of battle I call a real benchmark, not the tiny preset benchmark battle.
    Always get 60 on the preset one, but on this one my fps can drop below 30 at times .

    Agree, benchmark tool was useless in Rome 2 and Attila, and it is useless in Warhammer too.

    BTW 40vs40 battle is complete disaster in terms of fps.
  • nosuchnamenosuchname Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,399
    ostrogoth said:


    This is the type of battle I call a real benchmark, not the tiny preset benchmark battle.
    Always get 60 on the preset one, but on this one my fps can drop below 30 at times .

    Agree, benchmark tool was useless in Rome 2 and Attila, and it is useless in Warhammer too.

    BTW 40vs40 battle is complete disaster in terms of fps.
    Yeah, indeed. I hope once I can upgrade my cpu, it will run a bit better at larger battles, in my current setup I am using an intel i5 4690k and a gtx 980 ti.
    Auto resolving has been hugely improvement in warhammer 2, its far better compared to the first one, but it still needs some tweaking, especially the dark elves.
  • seienchinseienchin Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 4,571
    edited December 2016
    Suneater said:

    09.12.2016 update
    Same settings:

    ALL DLC + FLC installed

    Game version:
    1.5.0
    Build: 12678.0

    Game options:
    All full (including blood effects)
    except:
    Shadow details: Ultra
    Deph of field: Off
    Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
    Texture Filtering: Trilinear
    V-Sync: Off

    Test resolution:
    2560x1440p

    DX11 performance:
    ~46-54FPS
    average: 50.8FPS
    (-0.2FPS since version 1.1.0)

    DX12 performance:
    ~54-64FPS
    average: 60.1FPS
    ( +0.3FPS since version 1.1.0)

    Benchmark is still useless it seems...
    Nobody is getting contantly over 50fps in battles.
  • shinrosshinros Registered Users Posts: 1,517
    The best benchmark is Karl Franz tutorial battle in my opinion.
    Nagash: When Nagash reaches out to crush his enemies, it is with a million hands. When Nagash seeks out his prey, it is with a million eyes.....
  • nosuchnamenosuchname Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,399
    Shinros said:

    The best benchmark is Karl Franz tutorial battle in my opinion.

    Nope, disagree, this engagement is way too small, considering there are plenty of 40vs 40 battles on the campaign map.
    Auto resolving has been hugely improvement in warhammer 2, its far better compared to the first one, but it still needs some tweaking, especially the dark elves.
  • HuntingDogHuntingDog Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 1,470
    edited December 2016


    This is the type of battle I call a real benchmark, not the tiny preset benchmark battle.
    Always get 60 on the preset one, but on this one my fps can drop below 30 at times .

    Agreed, that's a better test then the built-in benchmark. Now just move the camera closer to the units, just above the heads. Then point the camera towards the end of the battle line, trying to get as many units as possible into the view.

    If u want to torture the engine even more, switch the map type from desert to wood/grass :)

    Then u will have one of the most extreme test cases. My guess is that your framerate will drop below 20 fps.


    The built-in benchmark is useless. Too few units, no zoom in closer to the units, no vegetation, no buildings, ... .
  • SuneaterSuneater Registered Users Posts: 241
    Huge performance drop with last updates:


    ******************************************************

    12.4.2017

    New processor + motherboard + memory:
    AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)

    Game version:
    1.6.0
    Build: 13578.1041534

    Game options:
    All full (including blood effects)
    except:
    Shadow details: Ultra
    Deph of field: Off
    Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
    Texture Filtering: Trilinear
    V-Sync: Off

    Test resolution:
    2560x1440p

    DX11 performance:
    ~48-57FPS
    average: 54.2FPS
    (+3.6FPS since version 1.1.0)

    DX12 performance:
    ~54-63FPS
    average: 60.7FPS
    ( +0.4FPS since version 1.1.0)

    ******************************************************

    14.8.2017

    AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3972MHz, 3,967x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.35625V)
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2800 14-14-14-14-34-1T-58)


    GPU information:
    Asus Fury R9 Nano
    Core Voltage: -48mV
    Power Limit: +50%
    Core Clock: 1025 MHz
    Memory Clock: 545 MHz

    Game version:
    1.6.0
    Build: 14491.1150947

    Game options:
    All full (including blood effects)
    except:
    Shadow details: Ultra
    Deph of field: Off
    Anti-Alliansing: FXAA
    Texture Filtering: Trilinear
    V-Sync: Off

    Test resolution:
    2560x1440p

    DX11 performance:
    ~14-18FPS
    average: 16.8FPS
    (-33.8FPS since version 1.1.0)

    DX12 performance:
    ~16-20FPS
    average: 19,5FPS
    (-40,3FPS since version 1.1.0)
    * Windows 10 64bit Enteprise
    * Motherboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
    * Power: EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
    * CPU: AMD 1700X 3.4-3.8GHz (3992MHz, 40x 99.8MHz Bus Speed, CPU V-Core 0.338V-1.406V)
    * Cooler: Thermalright Macho Rev. B
    * GPU: Asus AMD R9 Nano 4Gb.GPU 1040/545, -36mV (1000/500), (R9NANO-4G) ASIC Quality 60.1%
    * Net: 100/10Mb
    * HD's: Kingston 480Gb SSDNow kc300, Seagate Barracuda 3Tb 64Mb SerialATA600, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 200Gb, Maxtor DiamondMax 10 SerialATA150 300.0GB, Western Digital 200GB
    * RAM: 2X Gskill TridentZ CL16 32GB 3200MHz DDR4 1.35V F4-3200C16D-16GTZ (2400 12-12-12-30-2T)
    * Soundcard: Asus XONAR D1 Low Profile PCI 7.1
    * VCR+system: Denon AVR-1603 + 5.1 Eltax MovieMaxx & Eltax Cinema subwoofer (front Dali 310)
    * Screen: Dell UltraSharp U2713HM 2560 x 1440
    * Case: Fractal Design Define R2
    * Mouse: Logitech G500s
    * Keyboard: Razer Blackwidow Ultimate Battlefield 4 Collectors Edition
  • FredrinFredrin Senior Member LondonRegistered Users Posts: 3,012
    Is Dx12 still a no-go if you have an Nvidia card, out of interest?

    Also, are there any discernible differences in the visuals of the game if you run Dx12 or is it purely a performance thing?
Sign In or Register to comment.