Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Help! Lore question

kroghammerkroghammer Junior MemberRegistered Users Posts: 208
I am completely new to the warhammer universe. I have been playing TW since Rome 1. I was wondering what books people would recommend reading to start with? I want something with a good introduction into the lore as well as be a captivating read. Where should I start? Thanks.
Team Nippon
Tagged:

Comments

• SetrusSetrus Senior Member SwedenRegistered Users Posts: 18,553
    HoneyBun said:

To be honest, I would not start with the books.

The books are like an extra layer of lore. A story which takes place in a tiny part of a huge and complex world.

I would start with a map. Get a map of the warhammer world and get familiar with it. Then search for the names and places you see on the map on a warhammer wiki.

If I knew nothing that is how I would start. The warhammer world started as a game - not a book. So you want to know the factions first.

It's a good idea right here, I'd do that first. :)

I think CA also has these two Warhammer total war books, I'd recommend the Empire one as a follow-up to the above advice, it's fairly good in showing both Empire and Chaos off without getting a bit repetitive like the Chaos one. :)
    http://www.blacklibrary.com/all-products/the-emerors-armies-pb.html

Also, if you can get a hold of any of the army books for the tabletop game, that would be gold. :)
    Don't worry.
  • boyfightsboyfights Junior Member Registered Users Posts: 4,023