Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Best Faction For Learning Multiplayer?

RussellsproutsRussellsprouts Posts: 3Registered Users
I am brand new to the total war series and would like to jump into multiplayer battles soon since nothing feels quite as good as beating a human opponent. (Or quite as bad as losing to one!)

But there's a lot to learn. I would like to focus on one faction to learn how to play the game and then move on from there, but I want to make sure I don't pick the faction that requires significantly more micro, pre planning, or especially unique mechanics. Essentially, what's the easiest faction to play? I dont care if the faction is top tier. I wont be able to tap into that potential anyway.

For aesthetic reasons I want to stay away from Dwarves and Lizardmen but everything else I like the way they look.

Comments

• TheGrumpiestTheGrumpiest Posts: 76Registered Users
    Welcome to the fold!

I'd say that the most forgiving factions for new players are Vampire Counts, Vampire Coast, Lizardmen, and Empire- roughly in that order. All of these factions have access to healing, survivable Lords, and either unbreakable or undead units. Vampire Counts are probably the best for learning how to maneuver, and Invocation of Nehek is a great spell, but since they don't have any ranged firepower and are undead, you wouldn't learn much about ranged units or how to manage leadership. Empire has a solid variety of options available to it, and it will teach you a lot about all aspects of the game, but can be a little more micro intensive and has pretty flimsy front line troops.