Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

No more useless retreats. Retreat with honor!!

QuintoMaximoQuintoMaximo Junior MemberPosts: 26Registered Users
I have been playing total war for more than 12 years now and I always thought that there should be a way of getting some units out of a fight without losing half of the unit.

Could it be possible that CA can develop a way of retreating some units in a more neat way, defending themselves while retrating and thus you could replace that unit for other of your reserves. This could work for every total war and in my opinion it would make the battles way more interesting.

What do you think?

Comments

• NariacNariac Posts: 201Registered Users
    It's almost impossible to disengage from melee combat in good order. I feel the way it works now is fine to be honest. For example, my more disciplined armies are able to hold their lines and pull back only losing a few men - when I'm dwarfs or empire. If I try doing that with skaven, the unit sometimes takes so many hits trying to retreat that it actually breaks, but that makes sense for the rats.
  • Vanilla_GorillaVanilla_Gorilla Posts: 15,368Registered Users
    Eh. Retreating from melee is always going to be messy. At some point folk need to turn their back, and when they do... Stabby stab!

Especially since few soldiers are trained to retreat, especially in Warhammer. Possibly the Elves and Empire, but even those are doubtful. Retreating isn't really a Warhammer thing.
    Game 3 must have variety in its core races. Ogres, Chaos Dwarfs, Kislev, and Demons of Chaos in its full iconic, glorious, undivided glory.
  • khyronkhyron Posts: 172Registered Users