Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Map Design, My No.1 Concern of the Game in its Current State

YANGXuYANGXu Posts: 15Registered Users
edited June 21 in General Discussion
After playing several campaigns on very hard and legendary difficulties, I found the game in its current state is quite decent but apparently not without some big problems. My major issue with the game is the map design, which makes the grand campaign really not that grand. I think that this, either on its own or when associated with other factors, could cause a number of problems such as the lacking of replayability.

I think there are two major problems with the map design.
1. There are just too few factions on the map and the majority of the settlements are either occupied by the Han Empire or abandoned. I usually find myself very quickly in short of opponents. It happens in many Total War games or, really, any strategy game that after a certain point the player could just steamroll the entire map. It just feels like that in this game that point came too early and too easy. Minor factions cannot even raise a full stack whereas the major factions could rarely maintain more than 2 full stacks. (I normally claim the Kingship by turn 60 or so)

2. The distribution of settlements and factions is also questionable. The map is huge, but most factions are located in the middle and the north but at the same time only occupy half of the map, practically leaving the other half empty (which btw gives Sun Jian free access to a huge chunk of China and makes him the most 'delegatable' faction even on legendary).

My suggestion for solving the problems would be coming back to the historical facts. The following is an administrative map of the Eastern Han.