Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

CEO (Adding Ancillary)

TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
Good Morning/Evening fellow modders,

I am at my burning hour as I try to attempt adding New Ancillaries and Weapons to the Game. I have failed several multiple times and have reached the point where I think I am missing something and just couldnt figure it out. Im not sure if its missing table dependency or what not but im at my ends wit.

I have also tried to clone one of the weapons to make it sure I was doing the same thing. i.e. basing it from guan_yu_green_dragon_crescent_blade.

Furthermore, I have found out something that it may or may not help pinpoint my issue? I found out that
Special characters like Zhang Fei, & Guan Yu have " Two Ceo's" one without the word faction at the end and the other. not e.g.

Green_dragon_crescent_blade_faction
Green_dragon_crescent_blade

In addition, I have not added the png. icon for the "Heavens Rage" which Im pretty sure I could do it after I have successfully packed it with BoB via pfm. Maybe......


Note: Im trying to create Zhao Yun's "Heavens Rage" two_handed_spear_unique

These are the following tables I have edited so far to create a new Weapon/Ancillaries;

ceo +
ceo_nodes +
ceo_permissions_groups
ceo_to_equipment_variants
ceo_effect_lists +
ceo_effect_list_to_effects +
ceo_template_manager_ceo_limits +
ceo_threshold_nodes +
ceo_threshold +
ceo_spawners +
ceo_group_ceos +
ceo_group_spawners +
campaign_character_animation_set_overrides_to_ceos_junctions +
ceo_initial_data_equipments +
«1

Comments

  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    edited July 16
    L M A O, Im very stupid. The Underlying problem was that in the table of (Ceo) Column (exists_in_location) was set to faction_ceo_manager. I changed it to character_ceo_manager and it seemed to work!!!!


    Ok managed to pack it... and my start_pos is working but for some reason, Zhao Yun is still equipped with Heirloom Spear.
    I think Im missing something again...
    Post edited by TheCrimsonNight on
  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    Did you make custom model for Zhao Yun spear bro? it looks awesome
  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Mia022018 said:

    Did you make custom model for Zhao Yun spear bro? it looks awesome

    Thanks.I havent yet unfortunately. But Im definitely going too. The spear isnt really that unique as you can tell. I only used different parts and put it together but Im glad u like.

    Im still stuck at the moment as I am still baffled as to how I can make Zhao Yun used the Custom Weapon on the first turn of the game but if somehow I cant do it. I might by pass that by giving gongsun zan Ancillary Event.

    Its quite interesting why Metal Heros Cant wield Two_handed Spears. But Zhao Yun Can which is totally understandable as he is a unique hero.

    I know that there is a mod.pack that is able to alter that and I think I "May" have found that table on one of the Ceo tables. It will be nice if the mod author can release guides since 3K Ceo System is quite laborious (personal view ).

    In regards to adding the model. I plan to use the Exceptional Spear (Heirloom Spear) model for now.

    Hopefully, crossfinger* I finished this mod before Mid August.

  • RewanRewan Senior Member Posts: 1,124Registered Users
    edited July 17
    I'm guessing you would have to go through the startpos.esf to edit his base weapon
  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    i believe there is a table call Ceo_inital_equipment (not sure the correct name, i will check when i get home). you can change the starting weapon just like in custom battle
  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    the table calls Ceo_initial_data_equipment.
  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Mia022018 said:

    the table calls Ceo_initial_data_equipment.

    Hi, Yes thats the one!!. But I have already edited it and still doesnt do the change.




  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Rewan said:

    I'm guessing you would have to go through the startpos.esf to edit his base weapon

    As in like the base damage or effects of the weapon?
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users

    Mia022018 said:

    the table calls Ceo_initial_data_equipment.

    Hi, Yes thats the one!!. But I have already edited it and still doesnt do the change.


    I thought this is a glitch, but the official did not reply to my question. :(

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/247094/



    Because the assembly_kit will not generate esf file.

    So you must edit the esf file by yourself.

    Unfortunately, there is currently no easy way to edit esf file.


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    i tried to edit that table and build Ceos but it wont work too. dont know why
  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Ok so that means im not the only one who's having this problem.
    Thats a bit concerning whether it was intentional or not by CA. Hope its just a glitch.

    However, in regards to the generation of esf file. I did manage to generate esf file when changing start_pos i.e. liu bei location at a start of the game.

    Do we have to Compile it with the campaign folder with the ceo_data.ccd file together?
  • CyphoseCyphose Posts: 3Registered Users
    Reporting in as someone who got a unique horse for Pang De working. The key, I've found, is to use BoB in stages, but don't let it build a .pack file for you. Something about how it builds .pack files just wasn't working for me.

    I'm going to assume all of your database changes in DaVE are sufficient and correct. Once you're satisfied with them, we can start.
    1. In DaVE, click Export -> Build CEOs (and export changes to binary, if necessary--probably for text entries at the very least).
    2. Now, open up RPFM and make a new pack file. Go into your assembly_kit working directory and grab all the necessary edited tables (not CEOs yet) and add them to your pack file.
    3. Open up BoB, in the middle "Working Data" column open up campaigns, check ceo_data, and check "Process ceo data" under "Provider actions". Do not create a pack file. Click Start.
    4. Once BoB is done, add the ceo_data.ccd that's generated to the pack file you made earlier. Make sure the file structure stays the same (it needs to be in the "campaigns" folder).
    5. Put the .pack file in your data folder. For safety, start the game and make sure you checked the mod in the mod manager. Close the launcher.
    6. Open up BoB again, this time checking one or both of the startpos files (depending on which you want to modify). Again, only check to process the start pos, don't build a .pack file. Click Start.
    7. When that's finished, do the same thing with your .pack file that you did with the ceo_data--throw the generated startpos in working data into your .pack. Delete the old .pack you put into the data folder and put the new one (with the startpos) in.
    8. Launch the game and see if your changes were made.
    Using this method, I was seeing my added CEO ancillary mount on Pang De at the start:



    (Incidentally also pictured is that I made him start with a Military Ji instead of a Spear, so that's working too).

    The same logic should hold for adding a new weapon, armor, etc. Obviously the tables you have to edit might be slightly different, but so long as you've done that correctly, this method has worked for me.
  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    thanks so much Cyphose, i have beed trying this by creating a pack and nothing change. You have saved me. Thanks again bro
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    edited July 31
    Cyphose said:

    Reporting in as someone who got a unique horse for Pang De working. The key, I've found, is to use BoB in stages, but don't let it build a .pack file for you. Something about how it builds .pack files just wasn't working for me.

    Thanks for Zades #PFC and @Cyphose !!


    This is my steps:


    1. use \assembly_kit\binaries\Tweak.retail.x64.exe (DAVE - DAtabase Visual Editor) to modify "ceo_initial_data_active_ceos" and "ceo_initial_data_equipments"


    [ceo_initial_data_active_ceos]

    3k_main_ceo_initial_data_character_historical_zhao_yun_ancillaries 3k_main_ancillary_weapon_two_handed_spear_unique 0 1949023186

    3k_main_ceo_initial_data_character_historical_zhao_yun_ancillaries 3k_main_ancillary_mount_grey_elite 0 2029424527



    [Apply and Close]


    [ceo_initial_data_equipments]

    3k_main_ceo_initial_data_character_historical_zhao_yun_ancillaries 3k_main_ceo_category_ancillary_weapon 0 3k_main_ancillary_weapon_two_handed_spear_unique 153021501 character_equipment

    3k_main_ceo_initial_data_character_historical_zhao_yun_ancillaries 3k_main_ceo_category_ancillary_mount 0 3k_main_ancillary_mount_grey_elite 1601638275 character_equipment



    [Apply and Close]



    2. then click [Export] > [Build CEOs]



    3. copy the \assembly_kit\working_data\campaigns\ceo_data.ccd file and use Pack File Manager (or Rusted PackFile Manage) to make a new pack.

    Pack File Manager download link:
    https://sourceforge.net/projects/packfilemanager/files/Release/

    Rusted PackFile Manager (RPFM) download link:
    https://github.com/Frodo45127/rpfm/releases


    (important: be care the directory structure)
    like this:

    mymod.pack
     - campaigns\ceo_data.ccd



    ****** and change this pack type to "Movie" ****** Here is the key point !! B)





    4. put the mymod.pack file to the game data folder

    \Total War THREE KINGDOMS\data\mymod.pack



    5. use BoB and check [startpos_xxxxxxx.esf] , check [Campaign / Process start pos (3k_main_campaign_map ) , then click [Start] to generate esf file.





    6. copy the \working_data\campaigns\3k_main_campaign_map\startpos_xxxxxxx.esf file and use Pack File Manager (or Rusted PackFile Manage) to add to the pack file.


    (important: be care the directory structure)
    like this:

    mymod.pack
     - campaigns\ceo_data.ccd
     - campaigns\3k_main_campaign_map\startpos_xxxxxxx.esf
     - campaigns\3k_main_campaign_map\startpos_xxxxxxx.esf



    (and now you can change this pack type to "Mod", if you want to upload to Steam Workshop)





    7. copy mymod.pack file to the game data folder and replace.

    \Total War THREE KINGDOMS\data\mymod.pack



    8. launch the game, and don't forget to enable mymod.pack in Mod Manager. (if you change the pack type to Mod)



    9. Done!


    Post edited by toaru on


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Its not working for me. Im not sure what I am doing wrong. I will make a video to show all the steps and tables I edited.
  • CyphoseCyphose Posts: 3Registered Users
    edited July 19
    I was having the same problem with editing starting ancillaries and someone made this guide for me to walk me through with images (it was to give Ma Teng an Heirloom Spear, but same idea with anyone else). Following this to the letter, I got my changes to work. I summarized them in my post above (I personally have used BoB to build CEO data instead of just grabbing it straight after DaVE exports it and not had issues), but read this and follow along with the images to see if it starts working for you. I cross-applied this to other ancillaries I wanted to change/add and haven't had an issue since.

  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    Thank you Cyphose! :)

    The ceo_data.ccd pack type must be "movie" before generate the esf file.

    Now it's work perfect! <3


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    toaru said:

    Thank you Cyphose! :)

    The ceo_data.ccd pack type must be "movie" before generate the esf file.

    Now it's work perfect! <3 </p>

    movie? could you elaborate more please?
  • RewanRewan Senior Member Posts: 1,124Registered Users
    There are different type of pack files, for now if you create a pack file with PFM you need to switch the type of mod to movie for it to load up in game afaik.
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    edited July 31


    movie? could you elaborate more please?


    Cyphose has provided the guide (made by Zades #PFC)
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1f17CfF_rl9Mko0t6Y7ishefyUUFEV_krOfPFH5JvwRA


    Or you can read my previous post
    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/comment/2445189/#Comment_2445189


    The key point is ceo_data.ccd mod pack type must be "movie" before generate the esf file.


    Post edited by toaru on


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • CyphoseCyphose Posts: 3Registered Users
    I suppose it was silly of me to omit the "movie" type .pack in my initial directions, then :disappointed:

    I figured opening the launcher and checking the mod in the manager would have the same effect, but evidently it does not. The takeaway from this, I believe, is that when BoB generates your .esf file, it needs access to your modded ceo_data.ccd file, otherwise it just re-generates the default startpos--and setting the .pack to "movie" type allows it to reference the modified CEO data...?

    It's a bit weird, but either way, it appears that BoB doesn't do startpos properly when building a .pack file, so you have to do it in steps, with ceo_data first and then startpos later, referencing the ceo_data.
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    edited July 19
    Cyphose said:

    I suppose it was silly of me to omit the "movie" type .pack in my initial directions, then :disappointed:

    I figured opening the launcher and checking the mod in the manager would have the same effect, but evidently it does not. The takeaway from this, I believe, is that when BoB generates your .esf file, it needs access to your modded ceo_data.ccd file, otherwise it just re-generates the default startpos--and setting the .pack to "movie" type allows it to reference the modified CEO data...?

    It's a bit weird, but either way, it appears that BoB doesn't do startpos properly when building a .pack file, so you have to do it in steps, with ceo_data first and then startpos later, referencing the ceo_data.


    I must say, assembly_kit is very strange...

    Who know it must use multiple steps to generate esf file.

    And the ccd mod pack must be "Movie" type before generate esf file...



    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    Thank you @toaru @Cyphose . I will do what you guys said.
  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    edited July 19
    toaru said:


    movie? could you elaborate more please?


    Cyphose has provided the guide (with images)
    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1f17CfF_rl9Mko0t6Y7ishefyUUFEV_krOfPFH5JvwRA/edit


    Or you can read my previous post
    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/comment/2445189/#Comment_2445189


    The key point is ceo_data.ccd mod pack type must be "movie" before generate the esf file.



    Im a bit slow but how do I convert it to a movie...........NVM xD
  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    edited July 20
    So can you guys please tell me do i need to edit ceo_initial_active_ceos and ceo_initial_data_equipments to change initial weapons for heroes? Or ceo_initial_active_ceos is just for new created ancillary? I want to know that what does initial_active_ceos do? Thanks so much guys
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    edited July 23


    Im a bit slow but how do I convert it to a movie...........NVM xD

     
     
    You need use RPFM or PFM to change the PackFile Type to "Movie".
     
     
    Download Link:

    Rusted PackFile Manager (RPFM)
    https://github.com/Frodo45127/rpfm/releases

    Pack File Manager
    https://sourceforge.net/projects/packfilemanager/files/Release/
     
     
    Rusted PackFile Manager (RPFM) steps:






    Pack File Manager steps:




     
     
     
    Mia022018 said:

    So can you guys please tell me do i need to edit ceo_initial_data_active_ceos and ceo_initial_data_equipments to change initial weapons for heroes? Or ceo_initial_data_active_ceos is just for new created ancillary? I want to know that what does initial_active_ceos do? Thanks so much guys

     
     
    You can read my previous post
    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/comment/2445189/#Comment_2445189
     
     
    You must modify both of "ceo_initial_data_active_ceos" and "ceo_initial_data_equipments".

    ceo_initial_data_active_ceos = what ancillaries and traits they own

    ceo_initial_data_equipments = what ancillaries they equipped
     
     
     
    The ceo key not only initial item but also new item (like TheCrimsonNight do)


    like this:

    I change Zhang Fei's mount to Red Stallion.


    ceo_initial_data_active_ceos (you can also modify his traits on this table)



    ceo_initial_data_equipments




    Post edited by toaru on


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    edited July 20
    Thank you so much for detail intructions @toaru, i make it works, But when i changed characters starting the character disapear. For example, i tried to move Zhao Yun in Liu bei factions in initial. i changed in start_pos_characters but in game he just dispear, not in Liu Bei, not in Gongsunzan factions. Do you know what i did wrong there?
    Post edited by Mia022018 on
  • toarutoaru Junior Member Posts: 19Registered Users
    Mia022018 said:

    Thank you so much for detail intructions @toaru, i make it works, But when i changed characters starting the character disapear. For example, i tried to move Zhao Yun in Liu bei factions in initial. i changed in start_pos_characters but in game he just dispear, not in Liu Bei, not in Gongsunzan factions. Do you know what i did wrong there?


    @Mia022018


    If you want to modify character to other faction, the key point is :

    - find and check the general's information first (in "start_pos_characters" table)

    - check the general is start_on_map? (in "start_pos_characters" table)

    - check the general is under any force? (in "start_pos_non_commanding_generals" table)

    - check the general is in any settlement? (in "start_pos_character_to_settlements" table)



    Example for zhao_yun:

    zhao_yun is start_on_map (start on Campaign Map), and his is under gongsun_zan's force, and not in any settlements.

    So you need modify "start_pos_characters" and "start_pos_non_commanding_generals".


    1. use DAVE - DAtabase Visual Editor to modify "start_pos_characters" and "start_pos_non_commanding_generals".


    ."start_pos_characters" table

    find this record:

    613025843 Grand Campaign:3k_main_campaign_map:3k_main_faction_gongsun_zan:2120137584 general true 1 1 false false 25 0 false 3k_general_metal 3k_main_template_historical_zhao_yun_hero_metal false 160 false

    modify it to:

    613025843 Grand Campaign:3k_main_campaign_map:3k_main_faction_liu_bei:2120137576 general false 1 1 false false 25 0 false 3k_general_metal 3k_main_template_historical_zhao_yun_hero_metal false 0 false

    then click right-down button [Apply and Close]


    ."start_pos_non_commanding_generals" table

    find

    3k_main_template_historical_zhao_yun_hero_metal:613025843 3k_main_template_historical_gongsun_zan_hero_fire:2140783984

    select it, then click left-down button [Remove Record(s)], then click right-down button [Apply and Close]



    2. use BoB and check [startpos_xxxxxxx.esf] , check [Campaign / Process start pos (3k_main_campaign_map < xxxxxxx > )] , then click [Start] to generate esf file.


    3. add this esf file to your mod pack file.

    mymod.pack
     - campaigns\3k_main_campaign_map\startpos_xxxxxxx.esf


    4. copy this mymod.pack to your game data folder

    \Total War THREE KINGDOMS\data\mymod.pack


    5. start the game, and don't forget to enable mymod.pack in Mod Manager. (if the pack type is Mod)


    6. done


    It's just a Signatures! :)

  • Mia022018Mia022018 Posts: 20Registered Users
    @toaru Thanks so much bro, Finally i made it works. I tried many times but your guide help me. Thanks for you time bro
  • TheCrimsonNightTheCrimsonNight Posts: 72Registered Users
    <img src="https://us.v-cdn.net/5022456/uploads/editor/l0/b0dkudnm67kw.png" alt=""

    Hello Guys!!!
    Finally I have done the changes! and it worked!!!
    Thank you very much for your help especially to @toaru and @Cyphose. Without them This mod will not work. Thank you.

Sign In or Register to comment.