Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Beastmen - Minotaurs - Retexturing Project

Ephla442Ephla442 Registered Users Posts: 8

INTRODUCTION

Hello everyone, I'm new to Total War, I was a modder for the Skyrim and Fallout games and thought I'd try my hand at retexturing the Beastmens Minotaur unit from Total War Warhammer as a fun little project.

I'm learning the texturing process for TW assets, exporting so they look correct, then implementing them into the game currently, it's been a little confusing learning the new programs regarding extracting the files/model from the game so I'm able to import them into Mudbox/Quixel for 3D painting, however, I thought I'd make this post as a place for me to update/show my progress and share what I have learned along the way for those who are interested in that sort of thing.

"I'm excited to get stuck in, and make some new friends along the way!"

PROJECT

My plan is to texture a localized area of the beastmen's Minotaur unit to begin with since I am learning all these new steps and processes, and also so I don't overwhelm myself trying to learn too much all at once! For those reasons, I decided to only focus on working on retexturing the Minotaurs skin, hair, and horn and just ignore any armor, or accessories for the time being.

I did some google searches and saw some retextures (images for this site/forum) on the Minotaurs and wanted to be sure not to repeat what had already been done, I also looked through my old codexes, as well as my creatures of myth artbook for inspiration and ideas, although to be honest, I expect to make a lot of mistakes while starting out so my texture ideas are bound to change along the way!