Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Defending multiplayer sieges in Shogun 2 is utter garbage

Lu2naLu2na Registered Users Posts: 2
edited June 10 in Total War: SHOGUN 2
Let's go over it.

You start off with smaller funds, which forces you to take garbage units, and a much smaller deployment zone, meaning any effective use of cavalry in defending a siege is out the window. This alone means that you'll be fighting at a strategical disadvantage, unless playing against a total noob. Now you may think that the fortifications and towers justify the smaller funds and deployment zone. So to my next point.

Walls and towers are total crap. The only useful piece of fortification is the Tenshu and the gates. The Tenshu for hiding your units from enemy fire and the gates for being funnels, which can be exploited by yari ashi. Even then, you can just climb a short wall and outflank them. So why do towers and and walls suck?

2a.
Let's start with the towers. Towers do very little damage, have very low health and their placement is just bad. More often than not they get deleted by two volleys of any artillery fire. What's worse is that as a defender, you have to play for time, but that's not easy to do when all your outer towers have been captured by the much larger enemy force. "But you said that towers do very little damage" I know I did. But because my units are inferior in quality and numbers, the effects of prolonged tower fire is much more pronounced. Not to mention that the towers actually have a better angle WHEN SHOOTING AT THE DEFENDERS!?!? I'd rather just not have any towers, as any competent enemy will capture them right away, which basicly gives them an elevated ranged unit with unlimited ammo.

2b.