Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

CA, Please Proofread the Chinese Translation(s)

diabetes1874diabetes1874 Registered Users Posts: 17
This game is wonderful, but it's Chinese translation(s) really deserves a review.

I am a translator myself and I have worked on a lot of game projects, so I totally understand how they are usually done and the procedures it takes.

The translations we are reading are most likely pieces put together by several translators. Most of them (more likely, all of them) don't have the chance to play the game they are translating -- not to mention they are not necessarily players of any games.

It works well sometimes, for games with simple mechanics and backgrounds, but we are talking about TOTAL WAR WITH THREE KINGDOMS here.

I will name a few here.

1. Some of your translators obviously do not have sufficient knowledge for this job.

I bought A World Betrayed with pure excitement but it's all turned off when I saw Camp Crushers was translated as "破寨軍".

Dude, seriously?

"陷陣營" is the original Chinese name of this reputed elite troop, first written in the Records of Heroes (英雄記) by Wang Can. It is too well known to be back-translated into something else, in my point of view, this mistake is simply unacceptable.

2. When I started Lu Bu's campaign, the first sentence my narrator said was, "After you have killed Lu Bu......" (in Chinese)

After Lu Bu killing Lu Bu. Alright.