Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

My Take on Thematic Army Compositions - Dwarfs (Updated)

GoldfishLordGoldfishLord Registered Users Posts: 457
edited July 2021 in General Discussion
Hello all,

I thought that it'd be fun to share my take on thematic army compositions, starting with the Dwarfs. For me, using thematic armies is not only fun, but it encourages me to use units that I wouldn't otherwise recruit, and it adds a lot to the replayability within a single faction. I generally try and have a spellcaster hero with a melee lord and vis versa, but with the Dwarfs, a Runesmith is the closest thing to a spellcaster hero.

Disclaimer: I am not a lore expert by any means, and I am not saying that every army I list is feasible on legendary. Some armies are expensive; I do not care about multiplayer.

1) High King Thorgrim Grudgebearer

Thorgrim is technologically inclined, so he gets the more advanced unit types.

Thorgrim
Master Engineer
Hammerers x5
Peak Gate Guard
Thunderers x4
Gyrobombers x3
Skyhammer
Organ Gun x4

2) Grombrindal the White Dwarf

Grombrindal has no unique skill that buffs any particular unit, so for him I picked a theme of old age and fire to set him apart. Play ME without the Chaos invasion and go get Malekith!

Grombrindal
Runesmith
Longbeards (Great Weapons) x3*
Longbeards x2*
The Grumbling Guard
Irondrakes x2
The Skolder Guard
Quarellers (Great Weapons) x3
Gyrocopters (Brimstone Gun) x3
Flame Cannons x3

*I tweaked these quantities to improve the army versatility.

3) Ungrim Ironfist

Probably the most obvious, went with a slayer theme.

Ungrim
Runesmith
Slayers x4
Dragonback Slayers
Giant Slayers x5
Bugman's Rangers x4*
Gyrocopters x4*

4) Belegar Irongammer