Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Total War: Warhammer 3 Feasible AI Improvement Discussion

CaterpillarboyCaterpillarboy Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi, I was just wondering of the possibilities of an AI in Total War: Warhammer 3 that is improved over Warhammer 2.

Would it be possible for AI to detect when a player is wasting the AI's ammunition by moving around/kiting with a single entity, and for them to hold fire to preserve their ammunition. It would be nice to remove this exploit. Having an AI exhibit that kind of intelligent response is very important. I am not a programmer, so I don't know how easy it would be to implement. If the AI could be aware of its missiles-fired:missiles-hit ratio over a period of three volleys, then it could assess its accuracy and decide to continue shooting or not.
I can see how this might be difficult to implement, considering whether the AI is turned off from firing at a single entity for the rest of the battle after an accuracy check, or whether it goes through multiple accuracy checks after periods of time to try to catch the player off guard.

The AI could also avoid shooting missiles at a unit that has a certain amount of resistance until it is the last unit left on the battle field. Otherwise the AI is letting the player successfully tank and waste AI ammunition, instead of tactically doing as much damage to the players army as it possibly can by ignoring a tank.