Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Beginner help needed, cannot win skirmishes

Evox#2849Evox#2849 Registered Users Posts: 4
Hey Guys.

I'm rather new to the Total War games and was never really good at strategy games in the past but always wanted to get the hang of it.
Unfortunately, my Total War Warhammer 1 experience is rather frustrating up to this point which I would love to change.
As I suck at the actual battles (been playing a while by just auto resolve every battle) I tried to get better by doing skirmishes and watch tutorials (mainly on youtube by Zankovich).
So I know about countering certain unit types (spears against cavalry) or tactics like hammer & anvil.
But I fail to get them working in the skirmishes.

Currently I'm trying to win against the vampire counts by playing the empire.
After failing to do so a couple of times I'm now trying to achieve this by setting the skirmish to "small" size and normal difficulty.
But I still keep failing (tried like 20 times right now)
So as a last resort I'm trying to find help here in the forums.

Here is my train of thoughts for this setup:

Unit Composition:
- Vampire lords have a lot of low-level infantry (zombies) and a lot of light cavalry (3-5 depending on size).
- My units are more expensive so by just meeting their numbers I would probably be at a disadvantage
- Building a small but strong frontline like 2-4 shielded spearman that are leveled up should hold against the zombies
- Blocking the cavalry needs additional spearman so I take 2 units that protect the flanks (in other setups 3 to meet the cavalry number)
- Now I only have little money left so I either take a mortar or musketeers, melee fighters like flagellants or a cavalry unit

Formation: