Adorbs

Map Editor - TEd

Elliott Lock CAElliott Lock CA The Creative AssemblyPosts: 57Moderators, CA Staff Mods, CA Staff
Hello Total War Forums,

First let me introduce myself. My names Elliott Lock, I’m a Designer on Total War and today I’m going to be unveiling “TEd”, your new best friend.

“TEd” or “The Editor” is an in-house map creation tool. That’s right, you guessed it! We’re giving you the very same tool we used to create all of the maps you know and love in Total War: Shogun 2 and Fall Of The Samurai. Along with the release of “TEd” we’ve made some updates to the game, these updates help support user created maps by allowing users to share maps in game. So now you can imagine, create, play and share Land, Siege and Naval battles. So without further ado, let’s get you all introduced to “TEd”.

WARNING/DISCLAIMER
Incorrect use/implementation of TEd and user created content can crash your build. Please fully read all attached documentation before use.
If a crash occurs while attempting to play user based content, please ensure the content follows the guidelines laid out in our TEd Documentation.

Launching “TEd”
  • Open Steam.
  • Within Steam select Library.
  • At the top of the screen select the drop down box with the default name “ALL GAMES”.
  • Now select “TOOLS”.
  • Select and install “Total War: Shogun 2 - TEd”.
  • Once installed run “Total War: Shogun 2 - TEd”.
  • Congratulations. You’ve loaded the Total War editor, “TEd”.

Tutorial
Attached to this post you’ll find a document named “TEd Documentation.pdf”. This document outlines the basic how to’s of map creation. Please read this document in full before attempting to create, load and share a battle map.

Sharing
Sharing maps is handled in game. But if you wish to share maps manually, then you will need to copy the battle map data (BMD) folder into "%appdata%\The Creative Assembly\Shogun2\Maps\". Note this directory will not be created until you have saved at least one map out of "TEd".

Enjoy!