Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

more computer building... (sorry)

T_unitT_unit Junior MemberPosts: 28Registered Users
edited December 2010 in Technology
Hi guys,

I'm in the process (i.e. looking on the internet) of building a computer and think I have decided on this system detailed below

i5 760 2.8GHz
MSI P55-GD65 Intel® P55 (Socket 1156) DDR3 PCI-Express 2.0
4GB PC3-10666 1333Mhz (2X2GB) Dual Channel
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 5850 TOXIC 1024MB GDDR5 PCI-Express
Xigmatek Asgard Pure Black Case
Samsung HD103SJ SpinPoint F3 1TB SATA-II 3.5"
OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W Power Supply
Cooler

however, I'm a novice at this so have a couple of questions.

1. Is each component in this system compatible?

2. I'm looking at spending around £500 ish... should I be focusing more money on certain areas?

3. Following on from 2, is this balanced, i.e. there isnt one or 2 awful components dragging it down/ a component which is overly good and not being used?

4. Would you do it any differently? Is there anything I've missed (apart from OS/ screen etc)

And finally,

5. Shogun on top spec?

Cheers
Post edited by T_unit on

Comments

• AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited December 2010
    1)
    These components are compatible. I was not able to confirm that the memory modules were in fact 1.5 default, which you might want to try to do, although your mobo will probably auto volt it that way (which may or may not reduce your actual datarate or require you to up-volt it a bit). PSU is a bit borderline... see below. Maeda will like your HDD pick (lol)-always going on about it.
    2)