Adorbs

Patch 3 Beta now available - updated 30/09

CraigTWCraigTW Lead Community Manager, The Creative AssemblyPosts: 1,120Moderators, Administrators, CA Staff Mods, CA Staff, Tools Admin, Cakes!
edited October 2013 in Total War: ROME II
THREAD CLOSED - FULL PATCH NOW LIVE.

Hi all,

We’re pleased to announce that Total War: ROME II Patch 3 is now available for beta.

This update brings a host of improvements, including improvements to some low-end machines on the campaign map. There are also multiple crash fixes, fixes to elements of AI behaviour in battles and the campaign, and improvements to both balancing and usability and a wide range of general improvements, fixes and tweaks.

The team has been working tirelessly on this update, and we believe it will bring great benefits, but please do let us know how you get on with them by reporting [URL="http://forums.totalwar.com/showthread.php/95273-Patch-3-BETA-is-here!-PLEASE-READ-BEFORE-POSTING!
"]feedback here[/URL].

As always, full patch notes are available on the wiki, please check here for more details.

All being well, we’ll be looking to roll this update out to everyone sometime next week, but in the meantime, if you’d like to play, here’s what you need to do to access the beta:

In your steam game library, right click Total War: Rome II. Then choose Properties and select the BETAS tab. Finally select “patch3beta” from the drop down list.

Thank for your time.

Regards,

CraigTW
Creative Assembly



[EDIT] An update has been posted here.[/EDIT]
[EDIT] A new update has been posted here.[/EDIT]
[EDIT] Another new update has been posted here.[/EDIT]
[EDIT] Latest update has been posted here.[/EDIT]
Post edited by CraigTW on
«13456749

Comments

  • VuorinorriVuorinorri Senior Member Posts: 1,476Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    thanks :P


    i7-4770K cooled by CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
    Radeon R9 280X Gigabyte 3GB OC
    MSI Z97-G43
    8GB 1600Hz CL10 DDR3
    Seasonic M12II 620W Bronze 80+
    1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200RPM
    SilverStone RedLine 4B with 2x120mm and 3x140mm Spectre

    MadCatz R.A.T.5
    Tesoro Durandal Ultimate G1NL


    TEAM Warriors of Chaos
    TEAM Dark Elves
    TEAM Skaven

    Arch Warhammer YT stuff (no I'm not Arch himself)

  • flaxusflaxus Junior Member Posts: 10Registered Users
    edited September 2013
  • PlatinakettuPlatinakettu Junior Member Posts: 2Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Can't wait to test, thanks.
  • BloodSpillerBloodSpiller Senior Member Posts: 478Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Fix the Flaming Torches on Gates, please remove THEM!!
  • AndrestorAndrestor Senior Member Posts: 184Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Thank you guys :D
  • BatninjaBatninja Junior Member Posts: 7Registered Users
    edited September 2013
  • HistoricAphidHistoricAphid Senior Member Posts: 173Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Yay! I've been waiting for this before starting a fresh game.
  • drunkeneagledrunkeneagle Senior Member Posts: 173Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Thanks Craig!:)
    [PORTABLE-ID]drunkeneagle[/PORTABLE-ID]
  • rohirrimelfrohirrimelf Senior Member Posts: 394Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Many thanx Craig.
  • macetmacet Junior Member Posts: 23Registered Users
    edited September 2013
  • stnstn Senior Member Posts: 227Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    The link to the patch note is broken

    Thanks for Beta 3, will work it hard!
  • WintermistWintermist Senior Member SwedenPosts: 4,556Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Lovely, my good chap!
    My DirectX Diag: DxDiag.txt
  • panzerschreckpanzerschreck Senior Member Posts: 187Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Is there improvments for battles, for the performance issue in battles?
    THE GREAT WAR MOD Team/MAPPER
  • SlaistsSlaists Senior Member Posts: 2,793Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    thanks :)

    p.s. the link to the patch notes on wiki is broken. there's an extraneous <br> character in the URL
  • FAT_KONANFAT_KONAN Senior Member Canary Islands (Total War)Posts: 813Registered Users
    edited September 2013
  • Trish CATrish CA Guest Posts: 635Unregistered / Not Logged In
    edited September 2013
    stn wrote: »
    The link to the patch note is broken

    Thanks for Beta 3, will work it hard!

    Fixed now!
  • IBlewaFuseIBlewaFuse Senior Member CanadaPosts: 1,234Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Looks Good. Can't wait to give a whirl and hopefully run down enemies much easier (as has been stated!)
  • LokgarLokgar Member Posts: 39Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    "Attacking AI is now more likely to prioritise taking Victory Points in Siege Battles / City Assault Battles."

    WHAT!? I must be reading this wrong, but isn't it a problem with AI the fact that they just bum rush the Victory Points in the first place?

    -edit-

    Although most other changes look good. Good work CA.
  • NezsNezs Member Posts: 64Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Awesome. Unfortunately I don't see any fixes to spear phalanx or testudo being super weak to missles (thanks to increased hitbox size).
  • EptesicusEptesicus Senior Member Posts: 415Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Still no fix for the awful performance on good configurations?

    Instead you have this:

    "Frame Rate improvements on Campaign map on low spec Core2 Duo cpu’s in windowed mode. "

    WTF? If someone has a low spec core2 duo and wants to play this game they should ****ing upgrade!

    Are you going to make this playable on 2nd,3rd,4th generation i5's and i7's or just continue to stick your fingers in your ears and sing "la la la la"

    Also, still no sli or crossfire support, tesselation or MSAA?

    But i guess that doesnt matter because now people with low spec core 2 duo machines have some frame rate improvements when in windowed mode! Woopdy ****ing do!

    .............
  • jdw102jdw102 Senior Member Posts: 503Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    good work ladies and gents at CA, keep these bad boys coming
  • MacklesMackles Senior Member UKPosts: 5,292Registered Users, Cakes!
    edited September 2013
    Attacking AI is now more likely to prioritise taking Victory Points in Siege Battles / City Assault Battles.

    Men throwing torches to ignite gates in battles, now have less chance of failing to throw their torches and hit the gate, if ordered more than once to ignite the same gate.


    Seriously? Have you guys even played the game? You are making things worse!
    "Conquer, Punish, Enslave" - Words for the would-be Imperialists to live by!

    Somewhere on that hill, its gonna get bloody contradictory between us and them real fast. - Anon
  • bigfootedfred2bigfootedfred2 Senior Member Posts: 1,707Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    yeah
    Victory Points have had their capture time increased by 3x their previous length~

    would rather just move round the field how i like. My army is my machine.

    will post back if this is compatible with remove capture points mod

    Hit points for all units have been increased in combat.
    Melee defence has been reduced for most melee cavalry units and for some elite infantry units.
    Reduced melee weapon damage in battles, and increased melee defence

    ok good sounding. but we'll see.

    no fix to stop the advisor always coming back yet?
    hm. little thing really.
    Cur running
    be quiet 1000w psu
    m2n sli deluxe 64bit
    6gb Corsair Ram
    Geforce 580 gtx 1.5 gb
    Phenom II X4 945 @3.3
    ubuntu/win7/win8.1
    sandisk SSD 128gb
    seagate 1tb
  • EptesicusEptesicus Senior Member Posts: 415Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Mackles wrote: »
    Seriously? Have you guys even played the game? You are making things worse!

    It is like they are just trolling us now....
  • Steel*FaithSteel*Faith Senior Member Posts: 763Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    main600x0_p170l4gqovu82lhd1f3a1pa91odv3.jpeg

    Just when I thought you guys blew it, then you guys totally redeemed yourselfs!
  • katakrokerkatakroker Senior Member Posts: 640Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Still no fix for the performance on good rigs
    "2%"
  • IzayIzay Banned Posts: 221Banned Users
    edited September 2013
    katakroker wrote: »
    still no fix for the performance on good rigs

    this. So much this.
    "I will either find a way, or make one"
    - Hannibal Barca
  • Blacky77Blacky77 Junior Member Posts: 6Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Well what is very disturbing in the battle is the fact, that torches are able to destroy the gate so easily...so it mean¨s there is actually no need to use siege weapons to conquer the city...are you guys going to do something with that?
  • Crusader76Crusader76 Senior Member Posts: 862Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Eptesicus wrote: »
    Still no fix for the awful performance on good configurations?

    Instead you have this:

    "Frame Rate improvements on Campaign map on low spec Core2 Duo cpu’s in windowed mode. "

    WTF? If someone has a low spec core2 duo and wants to play this game they should ****ing upgrade!

    Are you going to make this playable on 2nd,3rd,4th generation i5's and i7's or just continue to stick your fingers in your ears and sing "la la la la"

    Also, still no sli or crossfire support, tesselation or MSAA?

    But i guess that doesnt matter because now people with low spec core 2 duo machines have some frame rate improvements when in windowed mode! Woopdy ****ing do!

    .............

    Yeah. I'm all for CA catering to lower end machines (mine's midrange at best now) but there has to be a limit! CA should not be catering to low spec Core 2 Duos! Pretty soon, I'm probably going to throw some money at my system in the shape of a new mobo with a Core i7 (or at least i5) and I want to see that my money was spent well by seeing Rome 2 fly around my screen!
    SonOfCrusader76 - the Son has become The Father. :D

    CA, Open Betas are absolutely imperative for the future of this once great series. That is Open Betas - not ones that are only open to those who pre order!

    Stop asking why people are angry! We don't like paying full price for a beta product - that's why we're angry!

    It had to be Rome 2, didn't it CA? Had to be Rome 2 where you finally dropped the ball. :(
  • MudkipziMudkipzi Junior Member Posts: 24Registered Users
    edited September 2013
    Thanks! Im really impressed with CA and how well they have handled this! Great job!
«13456749
This discussion has been closed.