Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Using Free Market principles to balance costs in MP?

WojmirVonCarsteinWojmirVonCarstein Posts: 416Registered Users
So I just started playing MP recently. I am doing OK, probably 50-50 record so far after about 50 games.

I just had a thought about using supply/demand mechanics for costing units in MP (Quick Battles).

IF YOU DON'T FEEL LIKE READING THE LONG WALL OF TEXT THAT FOLLOWS, THE GIST OF THE IDEA IS TO INCREASE / DECREASE COST OF ALL CHOICES IN MP, BASED ON HOW OFTEN IT GETS SELECTED AND HOW WELL IT DOES.

CONTINUE READING FOR DETAILS IF INTERESTED:

Could CA not implement an algorithm that looks at army compositions for each faction and periodically (daily, weekly?) adjusts the cost of each unit, spell, item and ability depending on how often it gets (not) included in an army.

This would mean that over time, just like in the free market, all costs should balance out. Auto-include lords, heroes, units, items, abilities etc. would slowly increase in cost to a point where players take it less and less. Never used things would slowly decrease in cost until people begin figuring it out that these previously useless things are now pretty good.

In terms of implementing this, it would literally take one person from CA's side. As a programmer/mathematician myself, I can already envision how I would do it. I could create a model that takes into account many different factors such as how often the unit is used, how often it losses/draws/wins battle, the rating of the player taking it, how many are included (if as a single entity or in pairs etc.). Then I would have an algorithm that takes into account all these factors in some way and then reduces / increases costs periodically.