Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

How to start?

Jake6257Jake6257 Posts: 1Registered Users
I've been playing Total war games since early 2000's. But this one is the most frustrating. It is perhaps because I know Med Tot war and Empire Tot war that I'm having problems. Firstly there's no user guide at all that I can find, a few films that don't cover everything are not my idea of a user guide.

I can't even get Alfred to declare war FFS, even having marched an army to somewhere I want to fight! I cannot find an answer even to that question, the box to declare war is not active so it won't let me. So frustrating!

Comments

• tak22tak22 Senior Member Posts: 2,384Registered Users
    Are you trying to declare war on East Engle? That's locked for I think the first 10 turn b/c otherwise AI Wessex steamrolls East Engle before they have the chance to get a foothold. (And also b/c historically they had just declared a truce).
  • sunshinetroopersunshinetrooper Posts: 68Registered Users
    Check the top right of the screen, you'll see a bunch of icons you can hover over, e.g. one will tell your faction buff, or any debuffs/buffs from political events. At the start of the game as east anglia vikings, you are locked for peace for 20 turns (I've never tried to break it, as you need to do quite a bit to shore up your army/provinces without waging war with the number 1 faction).

What issues are you having beyond declaring war? Playing as wessex is relatively easy with the exception, you can get get attacked on all sides and also by doom stacks from 'random viking invasions' such as wicing.

Main things to keep in mind are: