Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Noob here: success in QB seems like 90% army comp and 10% in-game skill. Do you feel that's true?

EggheadEgghead Registered Users Posts: 1
I enjoy this game but I've always leaned towards the competitive part of games. It's just way more satisfying beating a human opponent than the AI. I used to play Starcraft 2 a lot, but I want to branch out into other games. SC2 is more designed/balanced for multiplayer and it seems to more heavily reward skill in-game, whereas TW:W seems to reward raw game knowledge more than any decisions made in real time. I feel like the outcome of the battle is mostly decided before it's started, depending on who brings what.

That's kind of a bummer to me, because mastering mechanics appeals to me a lot more than just learning every little thing about every unit in the game. I would love to be proved wrong about this. Can anyone provide an example of an army beating a vastly superior army?

Comments

• Lotus_MoonLotus_Moon Registered Users Posts: 9,929
    edited April 2019
    Not at all, but part of skill is picking good army composition.

After coming up with the builds i use i have not once felt that i lost due to my opponents build but rather i felt he played better, this is always bit variable with new DLC as some broken stuff is hard to adjust to.

Common mistake is peoples builds are horriblr for most part than they blame the opponents choices for their own bad choices.

So yes if your build is horrible it can be hard to win with but once you start making good builds its very clear that often opponent just played better or used his units correctly.