Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Complete Noob to Modding

TobinHeathTobinHeath Posts: 3Registered Users
Hey there. Thanks for reading.

I am trying to make simple changes to startpos, but it's pretty confusing to me. I've never really touched modding ever, but this is a game I've passionately played for the past couple months, and would like to make some changes. I've watched Magnar's video on the Three Kingdoms thing, and I read someone's guide of an example on how to do a specific change, but I don't know how to do what I would like. If someone could show me the steps to do it, I'd appreciate it because this is most likely going to be the extent of my future modding of the game. I tried messing around with start_pos, but when I go into pfm, there are no start_pos tables, or maybe I just don't know what the things are labeled as.

What I Would Like to Learn How to Do:
  • Move a character from a faction of my choice at the beginning of the game(Ex: Sun Ren → Cao Cao)
  • Change ownership of a settlement, and change it to the capital of the faction of choice(Wuwei town belongs to Cao Cao, changing Wuwei town to Cao Cao's capital, removing Chen from ownership of Cao Cao)
  • Change relationship of characters(Change Sun Ren to adopted daughter of Cao Cao, and give them a relationship bonus)
I've tried to do the steps on my own by just changing the tables in the Assembly Kit, but it hasn't appeared to work for me. The most I've gotten is making the pack file, and then when I try to launch a Cao Cao campaign, the game crashes(crashes sometimes even before that).

I've tried this on two separate machines as well, to see if that would make a difference(reinstalled on both machines as well), but it hasn't worked for me.