Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

How to deal with cavalry?

DirtySanchezzDirtySanchezz Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello guys,

I am somewhat new to Total War.

At the moment I am playing Morathi campaign (Mortal Empires) and I am having trouble dealing with massive cavalry armies of Bretonnia. I usually use a fire sorceress, about 4 units of dreadspears, 4-6 Darkshards and some monsters.

The problem is, dreadspears on my flanks get smashed, routed and that leaves my missile units undefended.

Can someone suggest me an army comp or some strategy to keep my flanks from routing?

Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• dreagondreagon Senior Member Registered Users Posts: 2,183
    You can go cheese and cornercamp. But besides that you could focus on getting more anti-large. More infantry and for monsters you can use Kharibdys.
    "The dog is a peasant and the cat is a gentleman." H.P. Lovecraft
  • RikRiorikRikRiorik Registered Users Posts: 9,318
    If you're facing off with Bretonnia as Morathi your game should be pretty far along. Replace Dreadspears with Black Guard for the same Bonus vs Large effect but better killing and staying power against the armoured Bretonnian Kniggets. Maybe throw in a Kharybdiss to munch on them further with extra Bonus vs Large. I think normal Cold One Knights also have Bonus vs Large. Them's the easiest solutions.

If they do break through make sure to have you missile units spaced out so that they can support each other and not be charged two or more at the same time.
    Lord of the Undermountain and your friendly neighbourhood giant (Dwarf)
    Favourite campaigns: Clan Angrund, Followers of Nagash and the new Huntsmarshall’s Expedition
  • TheRealIronJazZTheRealIronJazZ Registered Users Posts: 180
    RikRiorik said: