Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

TWW2: Can you still capture artillery?

2»

Comments

  • ErminazErminaz Senior Member USARegistered Users Posts: 5,909
    I didn't know that you could capture across races. I mean I don't know how the unsophisticated Dwarf Bolt Throw can be retooled to be a complex, superbly crafted repeater bolt thrower. And in the defense of the Diminutive Bearded Ones, I don't see them lowering themselves to using a throw together and unproven cannon made by humans unless it is out of sheer desperation.
    Tacitus Quotes:
    Auferre, trucidare, rapere, falsis nominibus imperium; atque, ubi solitudinem faciunt, pacem appellant.
    They plunder, they slaughter, and they steal: this they falsely name Empire, and where they make a wasteland, they call it peace.

    Corruptissima re publica plurimae leges.
    The more numerous the laws, the more corrupt the government.

    I found Rome a city of filth covered marble and left it a pile of rubble. - Me
  • dag0netdag0net Registered Users Posts: 32
    edited March 2021
    Old thread, still relevant data.

    The tables list the % chance for artillery capture at 10. No mention of prerequisites or conditions[ that I noticed, other than that artillery exists in a defeated army oob.]

    Play Tests:

    emp [7 flagellants, wouldn't want them routing] vs cst rebels [obviously all crews die] - 4 coast mortars - zero cap
    emp vs cst rebels- 19 coast mortars - zero cap
    emp vs emp rebels[secessionists, extant] - 19 mortars [11 entirely decrewed(re speculation)] - 1 mortar captured.
    emp vs emp rebels[secessionists, extant] - 5 mortars & 14 HSRB - [6+5 decrews] - 1 Mortar, 2 HSB captured.
    emp vs emp rebels[secessionists, extant] - 9QB & 10 OG - [100% decrews] - zero captures.

    Obviously leaves questions. Firstly the test should've used an extant coast faction[hence later deploying qb & og to emprebel], because it's plausible that a break could occur in the routine when a 'faction destroyed' occurs. But given that the 'artillery captured' is specific to that existing my current feeling is that cross-culture captures are not possible.

    Perhaps I should call this a test of artillery effectiveness vs flagellants.
Sign In or Register to comment.