Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

My Take on Thematic Army Compositions - The Empire

GoldfishLordGoldfishLord Registered Users Posts: 444
edited May 2021 in General Discussion
Hello all,

I've slacked off given my interest in the recent news, but I am back to my thematic army series. As always, these are supposed to be fun, thematic army compositions for the campaign. They may not be viable multiplayer builds, and that's fine with me, because I don't play MP. Also, I am not a lore expert.

As to campaign exclusive units: In my Wulfhart campaign, I was able to recruit multiple Carroburg Greatswords units, so in a few lists, I've added multiples of exclusive units. I confess that I haven't played an Old World Empire campaign since their update, so I'm not sure if you can actually recruit more than one of those units. If not, then just replace all but one with their generic counterparts.

1) Emperor Karl Franz

Franz on Deathclaw
Bright Wizard on Imperial Pegasus
Carroburg Greatswords x5
Crossbowmen x4
Reiksguard x4*
Demigryph Knights*
The Royal Altdorf Gryphites*
Hammer of the Witches*
Great Cannon*
The Emperor's Wrath

*Edits made based on KN_Gars and LennoxPoodle's input. Reiksguard have largely replaced demigryphs as the cavalry.

2) Balthasar Gelt

Balthasar on Quicksilver
Empire Captain on Imperial Pegasus
Swordsmen x3*
Halbrediers x2*
Stirland's Revenge
Free Company Militia x2
Luminark of Hysh x2*
Outriders (Grenade Launchers)*
The Bordermen
Helblaster Volley Guns x2
The Sunmaker
Helstorm Rocket Battery x3

*Edits made based on LennoxPoodle's input. I kept the Outriders, but made them less elite/rare. I think that the explosiveness fits with his lore of metal/artillery theme.

3) Volkmar the Grim

Volkmar on War Altar of Sigmar