Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

My Take on Thematic Army Compositions - Wood Elves

GoldfishLordGoldfishLord Registered Users Posts: 369
edited April 28 in General Discussion
Disclaimer: I am not a lore expert by any means, and I am not saying that every army I list is feasible on legendary. Some armies are expensive; I do not care about multiplayer.

Time for the next segment on thematic army compositions! This one was actually requested, so here you go:

1) Orion

Orion gets the cavalry build. The inclusion of Great Stag knights actually made me want to play Orion again, and I thought that I was done with him.

Orion
Ariel*
Glade Captain on Great Stag
Wardens of Cythral
Wildwood Rangers x5
Wild Hunters of Kurnous*
Wild Riders x3*
Lost Sylvan Knights
Great Stag Knights x2
Glade Riders (Hagbane Tips) x4

*Edits due to the input of John_Kimble, Zekerath, and Helhound

2) Durthu

If zoats fit any of the WE lords, I feel like it'd be Durthu. His army lacks ranged units, but at the risk of being too similar to Drycha's build, it really felt like I should keep elves out of his forces.

Durthu
Branchwraith
Dryads x6
Great Eagle x2
Firebark Elders
Treekin x3
Treeman x2
Enigmas of Ghyran
Zoats x2
Forest Dragon

3) Sisters of Twilight

Probably the most traditional-looking build in the thread. The hawk riders for the Sisters are amazing and act as the forward ranged units; the deepwood scouts can be used like traditional missile infantry, firing from behind the melee line.

Sisters on Ceithin-Har
Ariel
Glade Captain on Great Eagle
Bladesingers x4
Deepwood Scouts (Swiftsilver Shards) x3
Hawk Riders x4
Sisters of the Thorn x3*
Great Eagle x2
Forest Dragon

*Edits due to the input of Helhound

4) Drycha