Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

New motherboard advice

SanjuroSanjuro Senior MemberU.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
edited January 2011 in Technology
Right, here's the situation. Just before Christmas I ordered myself a new motherboard (socket 1156) and CPU (i5-760). Only there were some problems with these parts so I had to return them.

I've been advised by one retailer that the socket 1156 boards and i5s aren't being made anymore, or (I forget exactly) that they've been superceded by the 1155 and Sandy Bridge CPUs, so I should get those.

Only thing is that I can't decide what type of motherboard to get. CPUs are fairly easy - the 2400 should be fine as I don't plan to overclock. But I have an old IDE hard drive that I want to pull some data from and then reformat so it's safe if I give it away or dispose of. So I need an IDE port, but a lot of the new motherboards don't have IDE slots. I'd rather not use a PCI card as it seems like a waste of money to me.

I'm not looking for anything with bells and whistles. Can anyone recommend or suggest a suitable motherboard?
Post edited by Sanjuro on

Comments

  • HardwaremasterHardwaremaster Senior Member In 3dsmax Los Angeles CaliforniaPosts: 6,391Registered Users, Tech Moderators
    edited January 2011
    Well as far as your HDD goes, can you get a cheap SATA drive? now you can get 1TB Internal drives for like 50$ USD, man I really wish I knew more about pricing in the UK. Anyways

    As far as the newest line of motherboards goes, i'm still looking around myself. As its brand new I know very little about the architecture.
    Total War Forum: Terms and Conditions
    "True redundancy is when you are writing a description to describe the word that describes the description you used to describe it." - Christopher Purches

    My PC: (2x 980GTX 4GB) (32GB DDR4 2133mhz) (I7 5980K OC 4.5Ghz) (512GB SSDs + 2TB storage drives)

    "How on earth is a video game supposed to help you "feel the smell of ash"? Maybe CA could package some up with your disc." -Mackles
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    I have a SATA drive, it's just that the PATA drive has Windows on it, so I can't purge it until I've got the new PC working - hence my concern about an IDE slot. I might be able to take it around to someone else's place to get wiped.

    So maybe I would just like advice on a new motherboard.
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    To make a choice on the mobo you need to know which CPU you will use first... I have responded by PM again Sanjuro, since that is now dated I see, here I will make the following observations:

    1)If it is possible, do work with the ide on someone else's machine. If they all have DDR2 machines, THEY have an IDE interface somewhere most likely!

    2)Around here it is customary to give a budet unless such considerations don't matter and we then ask for a performance level/length of service expected. For you since you already have a PSU, case, and Ram, the budget would be for everything else. If you also have things like a monitor, HDD, and other odds and ends, you should specify the budget is for which components.

    3)It is entirely possible that you could get 90% or more of the performance out of an AMD construction for considerably less than what you are going to pay for any of the top three Intel Socket systems.

    4)
    I have a SATA drive, it's just that the PATA drive has Windows on it, so I can't purge it until I've got the new PC working - hence my concern about an IDE slot
    Er, because you don't have a disk, or you are just concerned you might inadvertently hand off your key to someone and lock yourself out? Not sure I understand this part...

    5) Will you now or in the future want to use more than one graphic card with the sytem you will build?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    My budget is about £130. I want to go for a Sandy Bridge CPU, so that means the motherboard has to be socket 1155.

    What I meant with the PATA drive is that I can't reformat it to make it clean and safe because it has the Windows partition for my current Windows PC on it. When I stop using a drive I like to reformat it to make sure that if it goes missing, there won't be any important information buried away on it somewhere that can be used by crooks.

    I doubt very much that I'll want to have an SLI setup in the future.
  • evotucevotuc Senior Member Posts: 983Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    There is only one way to truly protect yourself: Drilling multiple holes through your HDD. Even if you wipe the drive many times, it still leaves a ghost image on the disk, which can be read by sophisticated software.
    2% Club
    FX 8350
    Sabertooth 990FX
    8GB 1600 RAM
    AMD 7950
    How much more grievous are the consequences of anger than the causes of it?
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    evotuc wrote: »
    There is only one way to truly protect yourself: Drilling multiple holes through your HDD. Even if you wipe the drive many times, it still leaves a ghost image on the disk, which can be read by sophisticated software.

    I thought a full reformat completely blanked the disc (unless you spend a lot of time and expertise to play around with it). Is even a reformat not that reliable?
  • evotucevotuc Senior Member Posts: 983Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    Preventing the casual recovery of your data is pretty simple. A reformat will do the trick, even just a single pass. It really depends on the level of security that you are trying to achieve. If you want the ultimate level of security, you have to preform the ultimate wipe, destroy your hard drive.

    Here's an article which leads you to some very good software for cleaning drives. "But theoretically your data is still recoverable by forensic ****ysis by well-financed governments. [...] Physical destruction is a good option for an archaic drive for which you don't have the necessary interface on a computer to connect it to, or if the drive will not reliably boot for you to run a software-based erase. It is also for those who want their data to be unrecoverable even under forensic ****ysis by governments."

    http://www.wikihow.com/Permanently-Erase-Data-Off-a-Hard-Drive
    2% Club
    FX 8350
    Sabertooth 990FX
    8GB 1600 RAM
    AMD 7950
    How much more grievous are the consequences of anger than the causes of it?
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    I can vouch for the recoverability of some data after reformatting- I have worked for a company that had this type of recovery done. I will not vouch for this after it has been reformatted and then rewritten over -I am not well informed on that subject however, and simpy tend to believe there would be too much confusion in the data after rewrites and reformats based on current methods of writing to disk surfaces. LOL! Well that is some fuuuun reading though if you think you're on a watch list! (Shire's watch list doesn't count Sanjuro!).

    Evotuc, you made ME paranoid! [Imagines evotuc standing over a blast-furnace with tongs and drills in his hand, brotherhood of NOD tatoo on his forearm]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • evotucevotuc Senior Member Posts: 983Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    :) All that I am saying is that the HDD in question is three generations behind current technology. If you want to truly protect yourself, run a drill through it about a dozen times. Problem solved.
    2% Club
    FX 8350
    Sabertooth 990FX
    8GB 1600 RAM
    AMD 7950
    How much more grievous are the consequences of anger than the causes of it?
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    Sure. Of course...
    [Checks the lock on his door]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    Ok, thanks guys. So I'm not too worried about the IDE connector now. I just want a motherboard that supports the Sandy Bridge chips and is reliable. I'm not planning to overclock or use dual graphics cards.
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    Mmm, my tendency is to go for ASUS and Gigabyte boards in general (there is usually a reason I might pick one over the other in specific cases- but I consider both to be above average manufacturer/designer mobo makers). Iscaran also likes MSI - I do not know their boards that well and would let him make comment here if he is interested. I have also used other boards frequently - but those are for business applications. Let me look and see what there is right now on Newegg, and make a few comments on those in the price range. Perhaps Evo if he sees this will look at another board(s) he likes, or I did not mention?
    Ok, just so you can have something to look at as I go through compat issues here is the link I am currently looking at.
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007627%20600093976%204017&IsNodeId=1&page=2&bop=And&CompareItemList=280%7C13%2D128%2D460%5E13%2D128%2D460%2DTS%2C13%2D128%2D461%5E13%2D128%2D461%2DTS%2C13%2D131%2D687%5E13%2D131%2D687%2DTS

    Ok, ROFL, I would choose any of those three, but look very carefully at the ASUS entry and tell me what you see on that board! Curiously, that board is also actually slightly more advanced in a way HEH!

    Remind me to talk about some minor Ram-Speed notes when you use an 1155 board.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • evotucevotuc Senior Member Posts: 983Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    I wouldn't feel comfortable suggesting an Intel motherboard. ONLY because I have no experience with them. Not a fanboy, but I have always used and researched AMD for their price/performance ratio. Al is very well read on Intel and I would trust his advice pertaining to their boards and CPUs.

    He's right, the Asus board has an IDE connection.
    2% Club
    FX 8350
    Sabertooth 990FX
    8GB 1600 RAM
    AMD 7950
    How much more grievous are the consequences of anger than the causes of it?
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    Doh! You gave it away! :p
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    Yeah, thanks guys. I think I'm going for an ASUS P8P67 board. The question is which model.

    http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=TzGzLFtd2HBF7vc5&templete=2
    http://www.asus.com/product.aspx?P_ID=Qx3PdnZI9Pq9BcIU&templete=2

    Obviously only the LE has the IDE slot. But what about the other features, does the full board have anything which I should get for the future if I can do without the IDE slot?
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    Mmm, there isn't much difference between these two models. One is not quite 2cm longer than the other... LMAO!

    They both have polymer caps (although the standard model doesn't tout it - it DOES indicate it is using solid japanese caps just like the LE, so its a polymer as well). What little difference there is appears to be that the standard model has Bluetooth and two 6gn SATA cables, while the LE version does not have Bluetooth and only one 6gb SATA cable... These cables aren't expensive, still its nice not to have to buy any! What little else there is is more or less in the numbers and placement of 6gb vs 3gb SATA connections (they both have plenty of each well positioned), and the IDE connection. (Do note the little blurb they have in the specs though about what the actual default speeds will be for various versions of RAM - for most users it will hardly be noticeable, but if you ever wonder why it may report a speed different than what you put in - its the Minds of Intel! LOL

    Those are some funky looking heatsinks on those chip sets - and while they look cool and may even work more efficiently than some other designs (really I don't know), they DO want to collect dust, so be mindful of either checking them and or actually cleaning the box out now and then! ;)

    I do not consider either of these particularly more useful than the other for regular desktop use, and unless you are thinking you need the Bluetooth/IDE or 2 cm length makes a difference -they are pretty close to twins.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • SanjuroSanjuro Senior Member U.K.Posts: 1,590Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    Well just when I thought I'd got it sorted, my local PC repair/service shop (enquiring about how they might assist with the build if I thought it worth it) said they'd been getting a lot more ASUS motherboard problems than usual.

    They said that at the moment Gigabyte seemed to have the better quality. AlJabberwock, what do you think of the two Gigabyte boards you pointed to?

    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3654#ov
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=3651#ov

    Thanks for your help in advance.

    As stated earlier, I'm not worried about the lack of IDE support in any of the boards now.
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    If you don't care about ever going above the stock levels of the 1155 chip's supported Ram frequency (1066 or 1333), either board is fine. If you suspect you may want to Overclock, probably you want the P67 board and not the H67 (the difference in the name comes from the Northbridge chip - the P67 is the one that will give you a greater range in Ram speeds). Other than that they aren't much different from each other, or from the Asus boards for that matter. Once again one of the few differences of any kind is one is about 2.5 centimeters shorter than the other, but thats about it from my point of view. ;)

    They both get good user reviews, and the levels of problems from them on the Gigabyte board are about what I would expect frmo a new platform and offer everything you have indicated you want or need. (To be honest, I have to say the same about the ASUS product as well, but if you have a good relationship with the folks at your place, that's between you all, and of more value than loads of things in life in general!).

    AL
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
Sign In or Register to comment.