Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Sli?

Bulldog773Bulldog773 Senior MemberPosts: 196Registered Users
edited January 2011 in Technology
Does the total war series take advantage of sli. I ask because I heard that games like WOW does not get a big boost from sli. This is very important for me as Total war is the only PC game that I play and I am building a computer with a GTX 580 Card but don't know if I need to go sli which will mean more money on a better Mother Board. Please help and all help is appreciated. Thanks.
Post edited by Bulldog773 on

Comments

  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    Sli and TW - not a match made in heaven... At least so far. While the issue remains in doubt for S2, previous titles have not had Graphics-Maker-versions of profiles developed that would specifically address and greatly improve scalability of game play, so one is thrown upon ones own trial and error or knowledge base to cobble one together.

    You can see TWC discussion here, but as you may discover, what works for one may not work for another- additionally, although I know what most of that stuff is, most typical users will not, nor what is and what is not a reasonable setting for the speicific items for each title.
    http://www.twcenter.net/forums/showthread.php?t=336510

    Here's a tip: In most previous titles, a single card will often outperform multiple cards in anything less than multiple screens of a very large size for many if not most systems. Further, while you may be able to find a good SLI/CF setting for some aspects of game play they may not be universal, or they can have cases where they will stutter for this or that facet of game play or subsetting of game setting combinations.

    If you have anything within the normal realm of resolution (say 27" or less), and are using NVidia cards, a modern 570 should just about do the trick by itself as long as you have the accompanying quality in components (upper PII or i7, or overclocked slower versions, and 4 to 6 gigs of Ram with a 64bit os). A single 580 is already more than you will need.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • Bulldog773Bulldog773 Senior Member Posts: 196Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    TO ALJABBERWOCK: Which card to purchase to go with this system. 4 RAM, 1TB HDD, i7 2600k over clocked.

    The AMD 6950 or AMD 6970 or Nvidia gtx 570..... Total war is the only game I play. I thought that the 570 was the better card but is has .8 less memory. Don't tknow if that will matter with S2 or future installment
  • AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited January 2011
    I believe we have handled this by PM, sorry if I was not clear in the first PM setup. Benchmarks of the 6970 and the 570 ar einconclusive because many have not been made under fair conditions (driver immaturity). All in all, however, I would expect either the 570 or the 6970 to provide plenty of juice for S2- and both have more than 1g of vram.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    “Every so often things happen that can’t be rationalized in a conventional way. People wanna know their government has a response. I am that response.”
    ― Kent Mansley (in "Iron Giant")

    For most general problems, for which you have no idea of the culprit, your first port of call should be:
    https://support.sega.co.uk/hc/en-us/categories/200307381-Total-War-Support

    If you are aware of a bug or a specific issue for which you know the cause, post in the support section for the specific title on our forums. ~Al

    https://forums.totalwar.com/discussion/172193/forum-terms-and-conditions#latest
  • Bulldog773Bulldog773 Senior Member Posts: 196Registered Users
    edited January 2011
    We did, I posted that b4 we started PMing...
Sign In or Register to comment.