Welcome

Please register for Total War Access to use the forums. If you're an existing user, your forum details will be merged with Total War Access if you register with the same email or username. For more information please read our FAQ’s here.

Categories

Overclocking Help Needed

MizuBushidoMizuBushido Junior MemberPosts: 28Registered Users
edited February 2011 in Technology
Hi
I have a question concerning Overclocking, I was going to get an i5 760 and an ASUS
P7P55D-E PRO(originally going for Sandypantz and that fell through, no need to cry over spilt milk). I came across a youtube video on overclocking an i5 and they gave settings close to the results I was looking for(3.34ghz=197mgh x 17). Would that be stable setting for an overclock? I'm going for an Cooler Master Hyper 212 plus, after market heatsink,will that be good enough? Do I need to change the voltage? I'm new to overclocking and was hoping to avoid it all together, but thanks to Sandy Bridge I can't. Any advice would be useful and be much appreciated.
Thanks Mizu
Post edited by MizuBushido on

Comments

• AlJabberwockAlJabberwock Moderator USAPosts: 7,729Moderators, Tech Moderators, Knights
    edited February 2011
    Erm,
    I'm an old biddy when it comes to cooling, so I will not say I would be happy with that cooler because I am not familiar with it. Yet. I will take a look at it and edit this post later.

On overclocking, I do not want to get into the habit of providing advice or being responsible for the OC'ing habits of the community or suggest that we can regularly provide that facility here. Shortly, (before S2 releases) we will be putting up a rather extensive FAQ and Link Library List that will provide sources for this type of information as well as forums, communities and guides for a number of technically related subjects.